Saracens - 2014 Premiership 7s draw announced

Mar 31, 2014

2014 Premiership 7s draw announced

PREMIERSHIP Rugby today confirmed the draw and venues for the 2014 Premiership Rugby 7s Series.

The Series, which is now in its fifth year, will kick off at Gloucester Rugby’s Kingsholm Stadium on Thursday 31 July, culminating in another high-octane Series Final at Harlequins’ Twickenham Stoop on Friday 8 August.

“It’s a great tournament of summer rugby, and we are really looking forward to it,” said Nigel Davies, Director of Rugby at Gloucester Rugby, who led his side to the title in 2013. “As a squad we really enjoyed it and the Series Final was a huge occasion.

We got a big crowd at Kingsholm last year for the first group stage and I expect our fans to turn out again as their support has been magnificent this season. It made a huge difference to us in the group stages in 2013.

“There’s no space to hide in 7s so it is a great format for players to develop their skills, and fitness. The tournament gives them a taste of playing for their club on a big stage.

“The Premiership Rugby 7s gets more exciting every year. Last season we saw established Aviva Premiership Rugby players like Chris Ashton and Tom Varndell test their skills.”

The 2014 Premiership Rugby 7s Series is split into three qualifying group stages, and a Series Final, contested by all 12 Aviva Premiership Rugby clubs. The only 7s event where you can watch the Aviva Premiership Rugby sides battle against one another.

Group A sees Gloucester Rugby host Bath Rugby, Exeter Chiefs, and London Irish on Thursday 31 July.

Twenty four hours later Group B features Northampton Saints, Harlequins, London Wasps and Saracens at Franklin’s Gardens.

Completing the group stages on Saturday 2 August at Kingston Park, Newcastle are Leicester Tigers, Sale Sharks and Worcester Warriors who will take on the hosts Newcastle Falcons for a place in the Series Final in Group C.

• The Premiership Rugby 7s kicks off on 31 July at Kingsholm Stadium with group stages at Franklin’s Gardens, Kingston Park with the Series Final at the Twickenham Stoop.

• For tickets and more information visit: or follow @premrugby_7s

Group A

Thursday 31 July

Kingsholm Stadium, Gloucester Rugby

Teams: Bath Rugby, Exeter Chiefs, Gloucester Rugby, London Irish

Group B

Friday 1 August

Franklins Gardens, Northampton Saints

Teams: Harlequins, London Wasps, Northampton Saints and Saracens

Group C

Saturday 2 August

Kingston Park, Newcastle

Teams: Leicester Tigers, Newcastle Falcons, Sale Sharks and Worcester Warriors


Friday 8 August

The Twickenham Stoop



Share this story