Saracens - Allianz Park plays host to RFU Schools Final

Nov 27, 2014

Allianz Park plays host to RFU Schools Final

Allianz Park played host the inaugural RFU Schools Champions Trophy Final yesterday.

The school that helped launch the career of Saracens, England and British & Irish prop Mako Vunipola, Millfield, were crowned champions after they beat The Grammar School at Leeds 31-24 in a thrilling match at the home of Saracens.

It was cup rugby at its finest – two teams from opposite ends of the country, with contrasting styles, leaving the outcome totally unpredictable. Try scorers for Millfield were wing Harry Close, captain Bailey Ransom (x2), fly half Adam Hastings and prop Henry Peck.

Try scorers for Leeds Grammar were hooker and captain Sam Ward, lock Harry Francis, and electric centre Tom Gorman (x2).

Millfield captain Bailey Ransom reflected: “I can’t fault our first half display. We let it slip a bit at the end, but credit to Leeds, they showed the talent they have that got them to the final.

“I just can’t put into words what this means to us, the emotions are running high at the moment.

Leeds Grammar School at Leeds head of rugby John MacKenzie added: “The first half we just couldn't keep hold of it. Hats off to Millfiled they were the quality side we thought they'd be. We fell off too many tackles, and didn't compete at the breakdown as well as we normally do. We just couldn't stop their momentum.

“But when we had concerted possession, and pressure, I thought we showed how much of a threat we can be. “Millfield were the better side over the 70 minutes, but we weren't a million miles away, and we'll take heart from that".

Grammar School at Leeds: 15 Jonathan Haslem, 14 Max Kay, 13 Tom Gorman, 12 Will Newett, 11 Chris Bridge, 10 Harrison Brown-Raw, 9 Harry Bolser; 1 Abhijeet Oswal, 2 Sam Ward (captain), 3 Dominic Hardman, 4 Harry Francis, 5 Simon Phillips, 6 Jonathan Webster, 7 Harry Mawer, 8 Will Shepherd.

Replacements: 16 Gerard Ellis, 17 Robert Dunn, 18 Alex Roney 19, Will Barker, 20 Jake Mitchell, 21 Tom Megson, 22 Luke Powderly.

Millfield: 15 Darren Atkins, 14 Harry Close, 13 Kieran Griffiths, 12 Henry Carling Parkinson, 11 Hadleigh Tucker, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Josh Barton; 1 Nick Isbister, 2 Aston Lester, 3 Henry Peck, 4 James Dun, 5 Rory Mitchell, 6 Josh Bayliss, 7 Harry Ransom, 8 Bailey Ransom (c).

Replacements: 16 Alex Tiarks, 17 Alastair Crossley, 18 Jonny Lane, 19 Oliver Dawe-Lane, 20 Cameron Brown, 21 Cian Kennedy, 22 Josh Wright.

Share this story