Saracens - Allianz Park – The Home of Champions

Jun 11, 2015

Allianz Park – The Home of Champions

The 2014/15 season will have to go down as one of the most memorable in the history of Saracens.

Throughout the age groups and across both men’s and women’s rugby, Saracens have reigned supreme on the domestic stage.

Here we take a look at the six trophies the Allianz Park side have won during an amazing season.

Premiership A-League

Slider 560x300

The Saracens Storm side lifted the 2014/15 Aviva Premiership A-League title after an unbeaten season.

The Storm side won eight from eight of their A-League fixtures during a highly impressive campaign in which they ran in 40 tries. Joe Shaw’s side, led admirably by captain Maro Itoje beat Worcester Cavaliers 27-19 at Sixways Stadium in the final to clinch the club’s first ever A-League title.

Premiership U18s Academy Finals

Academy final 560 x 300

Saracens U18s qualified for the event as Southern Conference leaders and faced reigning champions Northampton Saints at Allianz Park.

In a superb final between rivals Northampton Saints, substitute Nick Ramsey's last-gasp try handed Saracens the Under-18s crown at the Premiership Rugby/RFU U18 Academy Finals Day, as they edged out defending champions Northampton 23-19 in an exhilarating final.

Women’s League Championship

Saracens v Blue Bulls, 31/01/2015

Saracens Women won their first Premiership title since 2009, winning 12 out of 14 games Saracens 2nd XV also secured second place in the English Championship with a comprehensive 36-7 win vs Henley cementing Saracens at the very top of the women's game.

Saracens Women secured the Premiership title in an emphatic six try 30-0 win against Wasps Ladies at Allianz Park.

After missing out on the Women’s Premiership in the 2013/14 season by a solitary point, Saracens Women (led by 70 time England international captain Maggie Alphonsi) edged Richmond Ladies in the title race to be crowned Champions.


Champs slider

Saracens won their first ever Anglo-Welsh cup with a dramatic last gasp 23-20 win over Exeter Chiefs. Ben Spencer was the hero that day, kicking a last second penalty to send the Saracens faithful into raptures at Franklin’s Gardens. In a superb campaign, the north Londoners remained unbeaten, with their closely fought semi-final win over Northampton Saints a particular highlight.

Women’s Cup

Saracens Women Cup Win

Saracens Women beat Wasps Ladies 31-12 at Lichfield RFC, to secure a historic league and cup double in a landmark season for Rob Cain's side. Full-back Zira Handley was the star of the campaign, running in an astonishing 19 tries in seven games for Sarries.

After securing the league title earlier this season, Handley ran-in a first half hat-trick to give Saracens a 17-0 lead. A break from England legend Maggie Alphonsi set-up England U20s star wing Lotte Clap to score Sarries fourth of the afternoon, before Hannah Casey rounded off a fine day’s work to score her sides fifth try of the game.

Aviva Premiership


Saracens were the first ever side to clinch the Aviva Premiership title from fourth position. In a highly competitive competition Saracens finished the regular Premiership season as the league’s top scorers for a second successive season. The Saracens attacking game has continued to perform with the Allianz Park side crossing for 112 tries in all-competition’s (including Sanlam Challenge fixtures) with 31 different players dotting down for a five-pointer.

In a highly charged play-off series Saracens stormed Franklin’s Gardens to beat reigning champions Northampton Saints in a tense and at times, brutal semi-final to book a place at Twickenham. A week later, Saracens were crowned the 2014/15 Aviva Premiership Champions after they beat Bath Rugby 28-16 at Twickenham Stadium.

In a bruising encounter it was Mark McCall’s side who raced into a 25-3 lead in a devastating first half performance. Tries from Man of the Match Owen Farrell, a race away score from Jamie George and a routine five pointer for Chris Wyles did the damage. Bath fought back in the second half, but Saracens held on to win their second Premiership title.

Want to be a part of this winning team next season? Season tickets now on sale. Will you #StandUp for Saracens?


Share this story