Saracens - Barritt & Goode to start against Crusaders

Jun 16, 2014

Barritt & Goode to start against Crusaders

Saracens duo Brad Barritt and Alex Goode have been named in England’s starting XV to take on Super 15 side Crusaders in Christchurch, New Zealand tomorrow (kick-off 8.35am BST).

Saracens scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth is also included, having been named on the bench for Tuesday's game as Stuart Lancaster’s side prepare to face the seven time Super Rugby champions at AMI Stadium (pictured).

Ed Slater will captain an experienced England side which includes 11 capped internationals. The Leicester lock is one of four senior England debutants along with Northampton Saints loosehead prop Alex Waller, Gloucester Rugby centre Henry Trinder and Bath Rugby wing Anthony Watson.

Christchurch-born Michael Paterson, a former Crusader, is named on the replacements' bench with fellow uncapped trio Dave Ward, Nathan Catt and Kyle Sinckler.

England are looking for a first win of the tour in Christchurch after narrow defeats in the first Test in Auckland (20-15) and the second Test (28-27) in Dunedin.

Stuart Lancaster outlined the importance of the game on the four-game tour.

He said: "This is a really important match for us in terms of the development of our squad.

"We wanted this game to test ourselves against a top Super 15 side and with a large squad out here we are hoping to create opportunities for everyone to lay down a marker on this tour.

"We can see by how they have trained that they can't wait to pull on an England shirt tomorrow," added the England Head Coach.

England will be supporting the rebuilding of Christchurch by wearing the Canterbury Rugby Earthquake Relief Charitable Trust logo on their playing jerseys and donating 10 specially embroidered signed shirts to be auctioned off in aid of the fund.

England Team to face Crusaders:

15 Alex Goode (Saracens); 14 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints), 13 Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby), 12 Brad Barritt (Saracens), 11 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby); 10 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks), 9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints); 1 Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), 2 Joe Gray (Harlequins), 3 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), 4 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers, capt), 5 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby), 6 James Haskell (London Wasps), 7 Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby), 8 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs).


16 David Ward (Harlequins), 17 Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby), 18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), 19 Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks), 20 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), 21 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints), 22 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), 23 Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors).


Share this story