Saracens - Borthwick nominated for Player of the Season

Apr 24, 2013

Borthwick nominated for Player of the Season

Premiership Rugby today confirmed the shortlist for the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season Award and announced the event at the London Hilton, Park Lane, on 9 May is sold out.

Players from five different clubs make up the six-man shortlist, two from the England squad that finished second in the recent RBS 6 Nations.

"We are delighted to see the Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards continue to grow, and to see it sold out again with weeks to go is a testament to the appeal of the event," said Phil Winstanley, the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby.

"We have enjoyed another breathtaking season on the pitch with so many matches going down to the wire. The length of the deliberations for the awards reflects the current standard of Aviva Premiership Rugby - we had so many compelling candidates."

Julian Salvi is the only player who was also included in the shortlist for the 2011-12 award, won by Harlequins and England captain Chris Robshaw.

The shortlist for the 2012-13 award is:

· Steve Borthwick – Saracens
· Danny Care - Harlequins
· Akapusi Qera - Gloucester Rugby
· Julian Salvi - Leicester Tigers
· Christian Wade - London Wasps
· Tom Youngs - Leicester Tigers

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals – Miles Harrison (Sky Sports), Alastair Eykyn (BBC 5 Live), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Nick Mullins (ESPN), Adam Hathaway (Chairman of the Rugby Writers' Club and Sunday People), Hugh Godwin (The Independent and Independent on Sunday), David Rogers (Getty Images), and Alan Pearey (Rugby World). They were joined by Phil Winstanley (Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby) and Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby’s Communication Director) who chaired the panel.

On 9 May the following Awards will be made:

· Aviva Premiership Player of the Season
· Aviva Community Player of the Season
· Land Rover Discovery of the Season
· QBE Director of Rugby of the Season
· Guinness Try of the Season
· Gilbert Golden Boot
· J.P. Morgan Premiership Rugby Sevens Player of the Season
· Top Try Scorer of the Season
· Dream Team
· Gatorade Game Changer of the Season

The other shortlists will be announced over the next three days.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 9 May at the sold out Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards at The Hilton, Park Lane. The event will be covered live on Twitter via the @premrugby account.

Past winners of Premiership Rugby Player of the Season - 2011-12: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), 2010-11: Tom Wood (Northampton Saints), 2009-10: Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints), 2008-9: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), 2007-8: James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby). 2006-7: Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers). 2005-6: Mike Catt (London Irish) and 2004-5: Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers).

Share this story