Saracens - Barritt back for Ireland clash

Sep 01, 2015

Barritt back for Ireland clash

Six Saracens players have been included in England’s 23-man squad to face Ireland at Twickenham Stadium, kick-off 14h30.

Brad Barritt will line-up for England at inside centre alongside Jonathan Joseph to win his 23rd cap on the eve of the Rugby World Cup.

On the bench, Stuart Lancaster has included five Saracens players with front row duo Jamie George and Mako Vunipola named alongside Billy Vunipola, Richard Wigglesworth and Owen Farrell as replacements.

Saracens are the most heavily represented Aviva Premiership club in England's 31-man Rugby World Squad, with lock forward George Kruis and full-back Alex Goode also included for the tournament.

England squad to face Ireland

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 38 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 10 caps)

13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

12 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 22 caps)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 15 caps)

10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 32 caps)

2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps)

3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 51 caps)

4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 39 caps)

5 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 24 caps)

6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 37 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 38 caps)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 28 caps)


16 Jamie George (Saracens, 1 cap)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 22 caps)

18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 11 caps)

19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 23 caps)

20 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 18 caps)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 22 caps)

22 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 30 caps)

23 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)

Share this story