Saracens - Hankin & Ransom up for LV=Cup award

Feb 07, 2014

Hankin & Ransom up for LV=Cup award

Now the LV= Cup Semi Finalists confirmed, the last two nominees for this season's LV= Breakthrough Player Award have joined the shortlist, and will be put to a public vote on

Two Welsh representatives complete the final eight with Dan Baker, Ospreys and Owen Williams of Cardiff Blues joining the shortlist. They are accompanied by wildcard nominees Ollie Devoto of Bath Rugby and Saracens' Matt Hankin who recorded the best overall statistics for a back and forward respectively, throughout the LV= Cup pool stages.

Fans have until March 10 to cast their vote for this year's award. The 2014 LV= Breakthrough Player Award winner will be announced prior to the LV=Cup Final at Sandy Park, Exeter on March 16 and LV= will donate £1,000 to a grassroots rugby initiative of the winner's choice.

Matt Hankin, Saracens (20 years old, Flanker)

Hankin has been the standout defensive player in the LV= Cup this season, making the joint most tackles of any player in the competition and still achieving a success rate of 92%. The England age-group player has also pitched in with five turnovers won (joint-fifth most) and made 35 metres from 19 carries, crossing for a try against Scarlets in the process. Having gained some good game time in the LV= Cup this season he will be hopeful of securing some minutes under his belt in the Premiership before the season is over.

His match stats are below:

  • Carries – 19
  • Metres – 35
  • Tackles – 45
  • Tackle % - 92%
  • Turnover Won - 5

2013/14 LV= Breakthrough Player nominees:

Round 1: Jonah Holmes (London Wasps) and Harry Thacker (Leicester Tigers)

Round 2: Sam Jones (London Wasps) and Ben Ransom (Saracens)

Round 3: Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons) and Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)

Round 4: Dan Barker (Ospreys) and Owen Williams (Cardiff Blues)

Wildcard nominees: Ollie Devoto (Bath) and Matt Hankin (Saracens)

The LV=Cup, watch the next generation break through. For more information on the LV= Breakthrough Player Award and voting, visit


Share this story