Saracens - Five Sarries named for Le Crunch clash

Aug 10, 2015

Five Sarries named for Le Crunch clash

Five Saracens players have been included in Stuart Lancaster’s England squad for Saturday's QBE International against France at Twickenham Stadium (8pm, live on Sky Sports HD).

The Aviva Premiership champions have five players named in the starting line-up, with full-back Alex Goode, halfbacks Owen Farrell & Richard Wigglesworth plus forwards Mako Vunipola and George Kruis all named to start against Les Blues.

Full-back Alex Goode will start in the No15 shirt alongside Gloucester’s Jonny May and Bath’s Anthony Watson in the England back three Goode is set to win his 18th England cap in the process.

In the halves, Richard Wigglesworth will partner club mate Owen Farrell (both pictured) in an all-Saracens England half-back partnership.

Up front, loosehead prop forward Mako Vunipola starts alongside Bath hooker Rob Webber and Northampton tighthead Kieran Brookes. Elsewhere in the pack, Saracens lock forward George Kruis will win his eighth England cap partnering former Leicester Tigers lock Geoff Parling in the heart of the England engine room.

England play France home and away (August 22) in successive weeks followed by the final QBE International against Ireland at Twickenham on September 5.

Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We are really excited to play our first QBE International at Twickenham and to put into practice some what we have been working on for the last six weeks.

"The lads are itching to get out and play a match and these games give us a chance to look at a wide range of players and combinations before we narrow down our selection further."

England (v France, QBE International, Twickenham Stadium, 8pm, Saturday August 15)

15 Alex Goode (Saracens, 17 caps)

14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)

13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

12 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 13 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 29 caps)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 21 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 20 caps)

2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)

3 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 10 caps)

4 George Kruis (Saracens, 7 caps)

5 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)

6 Tom Wood (capt, Northampton Saints, 36 caps)

7 Calum Clark (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 27 caps)


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

17 Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints, 19 caps)

18 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 41 caps)

19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 20 caps)

20 James Haskell (Wasps, 58 caps)

21 Danny Care (Harlequins, 50 caps)

22 Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks, 12 caps)

23 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 20 caps)

Share this story