Saracens - Malins leads England U18s rout

Aug 14, 2015

Malins leads England U18s rout

Saracens Academy fly-half Max Malins starred in England U18s 33-8 defeat of South Africa A earlier this week.

Malins (pictured) skippered an England U18s side that included fellow Sarries Nick Isiekwe (lock), Dominic Morris (centre) and Billy Walker (reserve prop), with the Felstead pupil notching a 16-point personal haul with two tries and three conversions in an impressive personal display.

Malins’ first try came in the opening minute following an interception. A penalty then allowed South Africa to reduce the deficit before Harlequins wing Gabriel Ibitoye crossed for England’s second score after 23-minutes.

Moments later, a scrum taken against the head saw England release the dangerous Harlequins wing Sam Aspland-Robinson. He burst down field and set up Bath Rugby flanker Josh Bayliss.

To compound the hosts' misery, a blindside attack from Zach Mercer then created Malins’ second. He duly converted his own try and England had an authoritative lead.

Momentum stayed with England early in the second half with Brophy Clews' seven-point score coming on 47 minutes before an interception pass allowed South Africa to claim their only try of the game.

England scorers

Tries: Malins 2, Ibitoye, Baylis, Brophy Clews

Conversions: Malins 3, Brophy Clews

England Under 18 to face South Africa A

15. Ali Crossdale (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School); 14. Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins, Wellington College), 13. Dominic Morris (Saracens, New Hall School), 12. Johnny Williams (London Irish, St Paul's Sunbury), 11. Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins, Trinity); 10. Max Malins (Saracens, Felsted, captain), 9. Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, Lymm HS); 1. Jake Pope (Sale Sharks, Myerscough College), 2. Curtis Langdon (London Irish, St Pauls Sunbury), 3. Charlie Capps (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry's), 4. Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College), 5. Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, Haileybury College), 6. Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby, Millfield School), 7. Will Allman (Northampton Saints, Trent College), 8. Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby, Merchiston Castle School)


16. Joe Mullis (Gloucester Rugby, Chosen Hill), 17. Billy Keast (Exeter Chiefs, Truro College), 18. Billy Walker (Saracens, Oaklands College), 19. Alex Moon (Northampton Saints, Sedbergh School), 20. Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy), 21. Archie White (Harlequins, Epsom College), 22. Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, Blundells School), 23. Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish, Abingdon School), 24. Roti Segun (Unattached, Stowe School)

Share this story