• Gallagher Premiership

    Sun 27 Oct

    KO 15H00

    Leicester Tigers-logo
    Saracens Men-logo


    Venue: Welford Road
    Four changes for trip to Leicester


Scotland duo return to club action!

  • Sean Maitland is named in the starting XV for the first time since the Premiership final
  • Fellow Scot Duncan Taylor is set for his first competitive club appearance since April 2018
  • Academy fly-half Manu Vunipola steps up to 10 in place of the injured Alex Goode

“We’re playing away at one of the great grounds of English rugby and we know exactly the challenge that is coming for us.” – Ben Earl

Academy fly-half Manu Vunipola will make the second Gallagher Premiership start of his career when Saracens take on Leicester Tigers at Welford Road.

The England Under-20 youngster impressed during the Men in Black’s Premiership Rugby Cup matches and steps up to take the 10 shirt following an injury to Alex Goode (pec).

Number 8 Jackson Wray takes the captaincy role in Goode and Brad Barritt’s absence and lead a side with three further changes from Sarries’ opening day starting XV.

Front row duo Richard Barrington and Tom Woolstencroft are back in the pack and Sean Maitland appears in a Saracens line-up for the first time upon his return from the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Fellow Scotland international Duncan Taylor is named as a replacement and is set for his first competitive club outing since April 2018.

Barritt, Goode, Mike Rhodes, Max Malins, Dom Morris, Kapeli Pifeleti and Juan Figallo are unavailable for Sunday’s match due to injury while Josh Ibuanokpe remains suspended.

Saracens team to take on Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Sunday 27thOctober (KO 15H00):

15 Matt Gallagher (38)
14 Sean Maitland (63)
13 Alex Lozowski (94)
12 Nick Tompkins (106)
11 Alex Lewington (32)
10 Manu Vunipola (8)
9 Ben Spencer (160)
1 Richard Barrington (174)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (24)
3 Titi Lamositele (76)
4 Will Skelton (63)
5 Nick Isiekwe (68)
6 Calum Clark (43)
7 Ben Earl (43)
8 Jackson Wray © (228)

16 Joe Gray (15)
17 Ralph Adams-Hale (14)
18 Sam Wainwright (4)
19 Joel Kpoku (14)
20 Callum Hunter-Hill (5)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (232)
22 Duncan Taylor (114)
23 Rotimi Segun (17)

Saracens caps in brackets


To Welford Road