Saracens - McCall nominated for Premiership award

Apr 25, 2013

McCall nominated for Premiership award

Mark McCall has been named on the shortlist for the QBE Director of Rugby of the Season award, Premiership Rugby confirmed today.

The winner is announced by Premiership Rugby at a glittering ceremony on 9 May at the London Hiton, Park Lane. The event is now sold out.

The current top two sides in Aviva Premiership Rugby, Saracens and Leicester Tigers, are recognised on the shortlist alongside London Wasps and London Welsh.

The list includes one previous winner, Richard Cockerill of Leicester Tigers, who won the award in 2008-09.

"Aviva Premiership Rugby is fortunate to have some of the best coaches in the world working for our 12 clubs," said Phil Winstanley the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby.

"This is good news for the League but made the choice of selecting the shortlist very difficult indeed and it is a credit to all four of these coaches that they made it onto the list.

"If you look at the list of previous winners you will see a who's who of rugby coaching so the winner will be stepping into some very big shoes."

The shortlist is:

Richard Cockerill - Leicester Tigers

Lyn Jones - London Welsh

Mark McCall - Saracens

Dai Young - London Wasps

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals – Miles Harrison (Sky Sports), Alastair Eykyn (BBC 5 Live), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Nick Mullins (ESPN), Adam Hathaway (Chairman of the Rugby Writers' Club and Sunday People), Hugh Godwin (The Independent and Independent on Sunday), David Rogers (Getty Images), and Alan Pearey (Rugby World). They were joined by Phil Winstanley (Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby) and Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director) who chaired the panel.

The winner will be announced on Thursday 9 May at the sold out Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards at The Hilton, Park Lane. The event will be covered live on Twitter via the @premrugby account.


Share this story