Saracens - Botterman shortlisted for prestigious award

Nov 01, 2018

Botterman shortlisted for prestigious award

Hannah Botterman has made it on to a shortlist of ten young people for this year’s SportsAid One to Watch Award.

The prop has been selected from around 1,000 rising British stars supported by SportsAid across more than 60 sports for the award, which has previously been won by Olympic diver Tom Daley, para-athlete Sally Brown and hockey player Harry Martin.

Each year, the athletes are nominated by their sport’s governing body on the strength of their talent and potential.

Botterman was a key member of the England Women U20s side which won the Tri-Nations Cup against Canada and USA, and she was picked for the England Women Elite Playing Squad with a still year left at U20s level.

Last season she was instrumental in Saracens Women winning the inaugural Tyrrells Premier 15s final, scoring the match-winning try against Harlequins.

“It’s a real honour to be put forward because it’s not from within rugby – it’s all athletes over any sport," said Botterman.”It’s just about performing when I get my chance – there’s a lot of competition in my position at the moment."

"It’s nice to be recognised for the graft and how it’s all come together for me. It's nice that SportsAid show their faith in your ability to go to the top of your sport. The financial support is massive because it’s an incredible amount of money travelling to training, games and the gym. It takes the stress away.

“I’m hoping I’ll get some game time this month (for England Women in the 2018 Quilter Internationals) and it’s just about performing when I get my chance – there’s a lot of competition in my position at the moment."

The judging panel features Olympic bronze medallist Sarah Winckless MBE (chair), Dame Katherine Grainger, Britain’s most decorated female Olympian, Natasha Baker MBE, a five-time Paralympic champion, Matt Slater, the Press Association’s Chief Sports Reporter, Joslyn Hoyte-Smith of the GB Olympians’ Association, Ian Braid, Managing Director of DOCIAsport, and SportsAid’s Laura Eddie.

The other nominees are: Aaliyah Powell (taekwondo); Calvin Tarczy, (rowing); Caroline Dubois, (boxing); Dominic Ogbechie,(athletics); Georgia Wilson (para equestrian); Hannah Moore (para triathlon); Harri Jenkins (para athletics); Kristal Awuah(athletics); Lucy Turmel (squash).

The winner will be announced at the charity’s SportsBall, sponsored by Royal Bank of Canada, in London on Thursday 15th November.


Share this story