Saracens - Champions Cup final Team News: Saracens Men vs Leinster

May 10, 2019

Champions Cup final Team News: Saracens Men vs Leinster

It has been an unbeaten campaign for Saracens thus far in the 2018/19 Heineken Champions Cup and they will be looking to make in nine wins from nine in the final against Leinster at St James’ Park.

11 of the matchday 23 have come through the club’s Academy, two of which have been nominated for the EPCR European Player of the Year award. 

Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola have been in fine form in the tournament and deserve their name on the five-man shortlist. The duo start at 15 and loosehead prop respectively.

Jamie George and Titi Lamositele join the latter in the front row while Sean Maitland has recovered from his hamstring complaint to slot back in on the wing. Liam Williams completes the back three.

Scotland international Maitland is just one of two changes from the side that defeated Munster in the semi-final with Will Skelton’s devastating performances of late earning him a spot in the second row alongside George Kruis.

His inclusion means Maro Itoje switches to blindside flanker alongside Jackson Wray and Billy Vunipola.

Captain Brad Barritt takes his place in the midfield with Alex Lozowski outside a half-back partnership of Ben Spencer and Owen Farrell.

Mike Rhodes misses out due to a back injury.

Sixteen players in Saturday’s squad have experienced European success before as Sarries look to add to their two Champions Cup titles won in 2016 and 2017.

Saracens team to face Leinster in the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday 11th May (KO 17H00):

FORWARDS: Mako Vunipola (159), Jamie George (216), Titi Lamositele (74), Will Skelton (57), George Kruis (175), Maro Itoje (110), Jackson Wray (222), Billy Vunipola (101).

BACKS: Alex Goode (288), Liam Williams (28), Alex Lozowski (88), Brad Barritt (243), Sean Maitland (60), Owen Farrell (190), Ben Spencer (154).

REPLACEMENTS: Joe Gray (10), Richard Barrington (168), Vincent Koch (65), Nick Isiekwe (61), Schalk Burger (76), Richard Wigglesworth (229), Nick Tompkins (98), David Strettle (154).

Share this story