Saracens - Duo nominated for European Player of the Year

Jan 24, 2019

Duo nominated for European Player of the Year

Alex Goode and Mako Vunipola have been nominated for the EPCR European Player of the Year award.

The Saracens duo are among 15 shortlisted for the prestigious award which will be presented on the night of the Heineken Champions Cup final in Newcastle following the combination of a public vote and the verdict of a distinguished panel of judges.

Full-back Goode, who made his European debut against Bayonne in 2008, completed 80 minutes in all six of Sarries’ pool matches this term, making 251 metres from 54 carries and beating 26 defenders.

England Player of the Year for 2018 Vunipola received the man of the match award on his return from injury against Cardiff Blues in December and earned the honour again on his 50thEuropean cap in Lyon.

Congratulations to both!

Voting for the award is now open at and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Heineken Champions Cup final in Newcastle next May with one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR, and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup finalist clubs.

The list will be reduced to five players in April following the Heineken Champions Cup semi-finals by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges, and players who have not been included in initial list of 15, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final match, can be considered for the shortlist.

Judging Panel: Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Chris Jones (BBC Radio 5 Live), Matthieu Lartot (France Télévisions), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports).

Roll of Honour – 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)

Share this story