Saracens - Euro Team News: Saracens name side for Sale Sharks clash

Dec 09, 2016

Euro Team News: Saracens name side for Sale Sharks clash

Saracens have named their side to face Sale Sharks in Saturday’s round three of the European Rugby Champions Cup clash at Allianz Park (kick-0ff 17h30).

England quartet Owen Farrell, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and George Kruis all start for Saracens.

Prop forward Vunipola is joined by George at hooker, with Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead prop) starting alongside the Red Rose pair in the front-row. After making his comeback from a hand injury last weekend away too Bath, Maro Itoje is reunited with his lock partner George Kruis in the Saracens second row.

Elsewhere in the pack, Jackson Wray is ruled out of the Pool Three clash with a slight knock, so Mark McCall reshuffles his loose forward trio by naming Schalk Burger at No8. Experienced flanker Kelly Brown starts at openside with Mike Rhodes named on the blindside flank. On the bench, new signing Will Skelton is set to make his Saracens debut if he features.

In the backs, Owen Farrell comes into the side at fly-half to partner Richard Wigglesworth (scrum-half), whilst Brad Barritt continues to skipper the side from inside centre alongside Argentine international Marcelo Bosch. In the back three, Sean Maitland continues on the right wing with Chris Wyles (left wing) and Alex Goode (full-back) named to start.

Speaking ahead of the game, director of rugby Mark McCall: “Sale are team who we’ve had some quality clashes with in recent times.

Earlier this season we edged a tight contest, but The Sharks made us scrap and fight for every inch, and Saturday will be another fierce battle between the two sides. Steve Diamond has brought together a talented group, with match winners throughout their team. We will have to play with the same enthusiasm as we did earlier this campaign if we are to come away with a win.”

Saracens team to face Sale Sharks

15 Alex Goode (218)

14 Sean Maitland (7)

13 Marcelo Bosch (79)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (182)

11 Chris Wyles (218)

10 Owen Farrell (138)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (167)

1 Mako Vunipola (109)

2 Jamie George (158)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (143)

4 Maro Itoje (61)

5 George Kruis (128)

6 Michael Rhodes (39)

7 Kelly Brown (140)

8 Schalk Burger (11)


16 Schalk Brits (182)

17 Richard Barrington (95)

18 Vincent Koch (2)

19 Jim Hamilton (60)

20 Will Skelton (0)

21 Ben Spencer (85)

22 Alex Lozowski (12)

23 Nathan Earle (8)

Share this story