Saracens - Five Saracens Women named in England 23 for Canada clash

Jul 05, 2019

Five Saracens Women named in England 23 for Canada clash

Hannah Botterman, Zoe Harrison and Sarah McKenna have been named in the starting XV for England Women as they take on Canada in their second match of the Women’s Rugby Super Series in San Diego.

Poppy Cleall and Ellena Perry are named on the bench as Simon Middleton makes nine changes to the team that beat USA Women 38 – 5 last Friday.

The match kick-offs on Sunday 7 July at 01:15am UK time and will see the Red Roses looking to continue their unbeaten run this season.

Canada were beaten 20-35 by New Zealand in the first round but responded with 36-19 win over France in round two when England had a bye.

“I think Canada have got the competition going with their performance against France as I don’t think many people expected them to win,” said Middleton.

“They play very differently now to what they used to, and they play to their strengths which is that physical nature. They’re really organised, come at you in attack in a very specific manner and can be very difficult to get the ball off. They have also grown their kicking game which proved to be very effective against both New Zealand and France and France so it’s going to be a massive challenge.

 “Touring and being successful in major competitions is about using your squad and players stepping up and taking their opportunities. We’ve got 28 players and now it’s about trusting them to do their jobs individually and collectively.”

The Red Roses last faced Canada in the November 2018 Quilter Internationals when they scored five tries in a 27-19 win at Castle Park in Doncaster. Before that, England faced Canada in three November internationals in 2017 when they completed a 3-0 series whitewash.


15 Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women – 23 caps)
14 Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning – 4 caps)
13 Millie Wood (Gloucester-Hartpury Women – 5 caps)
12 Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies – 29 caps)
11 Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women –10 caps)
10 Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women – 14 caps)
9 Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies – 5 caps)

1 Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies – 46 caps)
2 Lark Davies (Worcester Warriors Women – 18 caps)

3 Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women – 11 caps)
4 Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning – 13 caps)
5 Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women – 10 caps)
6 Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies – 7 caps)
7 Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning – 6 caps)
8 Sarah Hunter (capt) (Loughborough Lightning – 113 caps)


16 Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks – 17 caps)
17 Ellena Perry (Saracens Women – 4 caps)
18 Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies – 1 cap)
19 Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies – 37 caps)

20 Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women – 30 caps)
21 Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies – 28 caps)
22 Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning – 79 caps)
23 Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women – 50 caps)

Share this story