Saracens - Five Saracens Women to start for Red Roses

Nov 16, 2018

Five Saracens Women to start for Red Roses

Five Saracens Women will start for England against Canada on Sunday after head coach Simon Middleton decided to make 10 changes to his team. 

Poppy Cleall and Marlie Packer were left out of the squad that beat USA Women last Friday at Allianz Park, but they return to the starting XV alongside Zoe Harrison, who comes in at fly-half.

Hannah Botterman has been promoted from the bench to start at tighthead prop, while Sarah McKenna stays at full-back for the second of three Quilter autumn internationals, this time at Castle Park in Doncaster.

Elle Perry, who had an impressive debut for the Red Roses last week, is on the bench.   

Middleton said: “From the outset, our intention for the Quilter Internationals was to give each of the selected squad of 28 players an opportunity to stake their claim within a Test match environment.
“The competition for places is really tough within the squad and that’s great to see. There were some excellent individual performances against the USA on Friday and I will expect to see the same on Sunday against Canada.
“We are really excited to play in Yorkshire and are looking forward to a great crowd and atmosphere at Castle Park on Sunday.”

The Red Roses’ third game is against Ireland at Twickenham, which follows England men’s clash against Australia and kicks off at 5.40pm. 

England Women match day squad to face Canada Women:

  1. Sarah McKenna (Saracens, 15 caps)
    14. Millie Wood (Gloucester-Hartpury, 3 caps)
    13. Lucy Attwood (Bristol Bears, 1 cap)
    12. Rachael Burford (Harlequins, 79 caps)
    11. Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury, 3 caps)
    10. Zoe Harrison (Saracens, 6 caps)
    9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins, 22 caps)

    1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins, 40 caps)
    2. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 11 caps)                                                  
    3. Hannah Botterman (Saracens, 3 caps)
    4. Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning, 5 caps)
    5. Abbie Scott (Harlequins, 30 caps)
    6. Poppy Cleall (Saracens, 22 caps)
    7. Marlie Packer (Saracens, 59 caps)
    8. Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning, 106 caps) ©

    16. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 14 caps)
    17. Ellena Perry (Saracens, 1 cap)
    18. Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins, 3 caps)
    19. Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury, 7 caps)
    20. Jo Brown (Loughborough Lightning, 2 caps)
    21. Claudia Macdonald (Wasps FC Ladies, 1 cap)
    22. Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning, 100 caps)
    23. Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning, 1 cap)


Share this story