Saracens - Five Sarries named in second British & Irish Lions test squad

Jun 29, 2017

Five Sarries named in second British & Irish Lions test squad

Following the first test defeat and a somewhat disappointing draw with Super Rugby side Hurricanes, British and Irish Lions head coach Warren Gatland has named his matchday squad to face the All Blacks at Wellington’s Westpac Stadium.

5 Sarries have been included in the side, with Mako Vunipola, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, Owen Farrell and Liam Williams all starting as the Lions look to draw the 3-test series level and bring it all down to the final match on 8th July.

In last weekend’s encounter, there were a few glimpses of the Lions’ attacking talent, with incoming Saracen Liam Williams providing the spark for a length-of-the-field try, perhaps one of the finest efforts in the tourists’ history, however they were dominated by the back-to-back world champions who’s clinical and incisive attack and immense work at the breakdown proved a step too far to overcome for the Lions.

In Wellington however, the team will be looking to revive their defence which has brought some impressive wins on tour so far, as well as exert some dominance at the set piece, keep unforced errors to a minimum, and build on the positives from the first Test.

Kick off is on Saturday morning at 08H35 UK time.

British and Irish Lions Team to face New Zealand in 2nd test

15. Liam Williams

14. Anthony Watson

13. Jonathan Davies

12. Owen Farrell

11. Elliot Daly

10. Jonathan Sexton

9. Conor Murray

1. Mako Vunipola

2. Jamie George

3. Tadgh Furlong

4. Maro Itoje

5. Alun Wyn Jones

6. Sam Warburton (captain)

7. Sean O’Brien

8. Taulupe Faletau


16. Ken Owens

17. Jack McGrath

18. Kyle Sinckler

19. Courtney Lawes

20. CJ Stander

21. Rhys Webb

22. Ben Te’o

23. Jack Nowell

Share this story