Saracens - Fleetwood and Scott named in England Women’s Six Nations Opener

Feb 01, 2017

Fleetwood and Scott named in England Women’s Six Nations Opener

Saracens Women’s duo, Vicky Fleetwood and Emily Scott have been named in England Women’s matchday squad for their opening game of the 2017 Six Nations against France. Hooker Fleetwood has battled back from injury to be named amongst the replacements alongside her Sarries teammate.

 The Red Roses get their championship underway immediately after the men at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday 4 February, kicking off at 7.35pm live on Sky Sports Mix. 

Head Coach Simon Middleton said: “With 994 international caps between them, this is a strong England squad with a wealth of experience.

“Preparation has been good, having had 10 days training as a group already. We feel ready to take on France, a side we know well. The Six Nations is an exciting and competitive tournament and we look forward to getting the campaign underway in front of a home crowd at Twickenham.”

The two sides have faced each other twice since last year’s Six Nations, which was won by France following a championship decider between the two sides in Vannes. A last-gasp try in the Women's Rugby Super Series allowed England to exact revenge on their Six Nations loss in Salt Lake City last summer, running out 17-13 winners before following up with a 10-5 victory at the Twickenham Stoop in the opening game of the Old Mutual Wealth Series in November.

Entrance to England Women v France at Twickenham on Saturday is free following the conclusion of the men’s game.


England match-day 23 against France

15 Danielle Waterman (Bristol, 64 caps)
14 Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries, 27 caps)
13 Emily Scarratt (Lichfield, 61 caps)
12 Amber Reed (Bristol, 32 caps)
11 Amy Wilson Hardy (Bristol, 3 caps)
10 Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 80 caps)
9 Natasha Hunt (Lichfield, 33 caps)

1 Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries, 117 caps)
2 Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 20 caps)
3 Laura Keates (Worcester Valkyries, 56 caps)
4 Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 98 caps)
5 Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 38 caps)
6 Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 24 caps)
7 Marlie Packer (Bristol, 40 caps)
8 Sarah Hunter (Bristol, 85 caps) (c)

16 Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens, 54 caps)
17 Justine Lucas (Lichfield, 14 caps)
18 Sarah Bern (Bristol, 4 caps)
19 Zoe Aldcroft (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 2 caps)
20 Poppy Cleall (Bristol, 7 caps)
21 La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 59 caps)
22 Emily Scott (Saracens, 16 caps)
23 Rachael Burford (Aylesford Bulls, 60 caps)


Share this story