Saracens - Four Saracens included in England side to face Baa-Baas

May 25, 2017

Four Saracens included in England side to face Baa-Baas

Four Saracens have been named in England’s squad to play in the Old Mutual Wealth Cup against the Barbarians on Sunday at Twickenham Stadium (kick off 3pm, live on Sky Sports HD).

Nathan Earle (right-wing), Alex Lozowski (inside centre) and Nick Isiekwe (lock forward) are all named to start with experienced half-back Richard Wigglesworth named on the bench in the non-test game against the Barbarians, who have Saracens stars Schalk Brits and Alex Goode named in their squad.

Head Coach Eddie Jones said: “I’m excited about this squad playing the Barbarians on Sunday.  The players have trained really well with intensity over the last few weeks and now we need to put that onto the field this weekend.”

“While we have some really experienced players starting the game there is a great opportunity for some of the younger players to show what they are about against a Barbarians team full of quality international players.

“We will be treating this game as a Test match and expecting the Barbarians to start the game quickly. This match will be crucial preparation ahead of our two-Test series against Argentina next month.

“I’ve decided to have co-captains this weekend with Chris Robshaw and George Ford. We need the responsibility of leadership shared. Chris will look after the forwards and defence while George will look after the backs and attack. Its splits the responsibility nicely and with so many younger players there we need co-captains rather than just one guy responsible for everything."

Rob Buchanan (Harlequins), Ryan Mills (Worcester Warriors), Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors) and Marland Yarde (Harlequins) were not considered for selection due to injury.  Both Buchanan and Mills have been released from camp.

England team to face Barbarians for the Old Mutual Wealth Cup * PLEASE NOTE THIS IS AN UNCAPPED MATCH

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 60 caps)

14 Nathan Earle (Saracens, uncapped)

13 Sam James (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

12 Alex Lozowski (Saracens, uncapped)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 25 caps)

10 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 35 caps)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 71 caps)

1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)

2 Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)

3 Will Collier (Harlequins, uncapped)

4 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)

5 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, uncapped)

6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 55 caps)  

7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

8 Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks, uncapped)


16 George McGuigan (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

17 Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

18 Jamal Ford-Robinson (Bristol Rugby, uncapped)

19 Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby, uncapped)

20 Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

21 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)

22 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 27 caps)

23 Mike Haley (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Tickets for the Old Mutual Wealth Cup – England v Barbarians – are available from £5 for kids and £25 for adults. Visit

Share this story