Saracens - Four Saracens named in Red Roses squad for OMW Series

Oct 26, 2017

Four Saracens named in Red Roses squad for OMW Series

Saracens captain Lotte Clapp is named in the 28 player squad for the Old Mutual Wealth Series alongside Poppy Cleall and Marlie Packer. Fly half Zoe Harrison is also set to earn her senior international debut throughout the series.

The Red Roses face Canada in a three Test series in November with the opening game at the home of Saracens, Allianz Park on Friday 17th November, (K.O. 19:30, live stream via
The 28-player squad will convene in camp on the 13th November in Bisham Abbey.  18 players from the recent Women’s Rugby World Cup squad have been included in the squad, with seven uncapped players also named.
Simon Middleton, England Women Head Coach today said: “We’re really excited; we know the challenge will be different this season. We have new additions to the squad, a good combination of experience but also some new and exciting talent. We have full confidence that they can come up to standard quickly and showcase their talents, with our more experienced players leading from the front and setting the example that the youngsters need to follow.
“Our focus this season will be about winning and that will stay top of our agenda. We have indoctrinated a winning culture in the squad last season and we want to keep this winning mentality throughout this one. We are looking forward to getting back out and taking on Canada, in what we know will be a challenging and demanding three Test series.”    
Alongside the announcement of the Old Mutual Wealth Series squad England have also named a wider 35 woman Elite Player Squad for the 2017/18 season which includes Saracens centre Lauren Cattell.
England Women Old Mutual Wealth Squad 2017/18 Season
* denotes uncapped player
Sarah Bern (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Jo Brown (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)*
Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)
Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies)
Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies)
Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women)
Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies)
Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries)
Sarah Hunter (Loughborough Lightning)
Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
Justine Lucas (Wasps FC Ladies)
Harriet Millar-Mills (Wasps FC Ladies)
Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies)
Marlie Packer (Saracens Women)
Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)

Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies)
Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies)*
Charlotte Clapp (Saracens Women)
Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
Abigail Dow (Wasps FC Ladies)*
Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)*
Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)*
Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies)*
Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies)
Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies)
Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies)*
Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies)

Additional Players named in Elite Player Squad
Bianca Blackburn (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC)
Lauren Cattell (Saracens Women)
Olivia Jones (Loughborough Lightning)*
Poppy Leitch (Bristol Ladies)
Cath O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning)*
Kelly Smith (Gloucester- Hartpury Women’s RFC)*
Rachael Woosey (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)*

17th November - Allianz Park (KO 19:30, live stream via
England Women v Canada
Tickets available via 

Share this story