Saracens - Four Saracens Nominated For European Player of the Year

Apr 20, 2016

Four Saracens Nominated For European Player of the Year

Ahead of the high-profile semi-final matches in the European Rugby Champions Cup and Challenge Cup, EPCR in conjunction with one of its Official Partners, Turkish Airlines, has announced the list of contenders for the European Player of the Year 2016 award.

This year's winner will follow in the footsteps of those such as Jonny Wilkinson, Sean O'Brien and Nick Abendanon, and will also receive one million air miles courtesy of Turkish Airlines.

Selected by a distinguished panel of rugby experts, the list for one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game includes 15 players who have performed outstandingly during the 2015/16 season to date.

This season four Saracens stars have been nominated for the award. Second row pair George Kruis and Maro Itoje receive nominations alongside number 8 Billy Vunipola and fly half Owen Farrell. All four have been in scintillating form for Saracens this season and will take to the field this Saturday as Saracens contest the semi-finals against Wasps.

This year, fans of European club rugby will be able to have a major say in the outcome. Fans can vote for their choice for the award by visiting

By casting their votes and by sharing their choices on Facebook, fans will also be in the running to win prizes courtesy of Turkish Airlines and EPCR.

The EPCR European Player of the Year 2016 will be announced in Lyon during next month's EPCR finals weekend.

EPCR European Player of the Year 2016 list presented by Turkish Airlines

Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)

Dan Carter (Racing 92)

Jack Clifford (Harlequins)

Elliot Daly (Wasps)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)

Guilhem Guirado (RC Toulon)

Juan Imhoff (Racing 92)

Maro Itoje (Saracens)

George Kruis (Saracens)

George North (Northampton Saints)

Charles Piutau (Wasps)

George Smith (Wasps)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)

Judging Panel: Emmanuel Massicard (Editor, Midi Olympique), Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/The Sunday Times), Mick Cleary (Rugby Correspondent, The Daily Telegraph), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports)

Previous winners: Ronan O'Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby tournaments); Sean O'Brien (Leinster Rugby) 2011; Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby) 2012; Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon) 2013; Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon) 2014; Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne) 2015

Share this story