Saracens - Goode and George set for World Cup bow

Oct 06, 2015

Goode and George set for World Cup bow

Stuart Lancaster has reshuffled his match-day squad for England’s fourth and final Pool A clash against Uruguay on Saturday in Manchester (kick-off 8pm, live on ITV), handing maiden Rugby World Cup starts to four players.

Saracens full-back Alex Goode and hooker Jamie George are set to get his first taste of tournament action at Manchester City Stadium and is one of six Saracens players included in the 23-man squad.

Goode starts alongside clubmate Owen Farrell who replaces Brad Barritt at inside centre in the England backline, with Barritt missing the game due to an arm injury picked up against Australia.

In the pack, Mako Vunipola starts in place of Joe Marler at loosehead prop, whilst on the bench Jamie George joins George Kruis and Richard Wigglesworth.
England Head Coach Lancaster said: “Brad Barritt (arm) and Courtney Lawes (knee) are not available this weekend and Ben Morgan (dead leg) and Ben Youngs (ankle) will not be able to train fully until Thursday.

“This is an opportunity for us to finish the tournament with a strong performance against Uruguay and a chance for the likes of young players such as Jack Nowell and Henry Slade to play in a World Cup.

“We owe it to ourselves and the supporters who have been brilliant throughout.

“This is an important game for rugby in the north of England and we want to give those people who have been looking forward to this game something to cheer about.”

England side to face Uruguay on 10 October

15. Alex Goode (Saracens, 18 caps)
14. Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 1 cap)
12. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 34 caps)
11. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 9 caps)
10. George Ford (Bath Rugby, 16 caps)
9. Danny Care (Harlequins, 52 caps)

1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 26 caps)
2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 27 caps)
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 55 caps)
4. Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 27 caps)
5. Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 28 caps)
6. James Haskell (Wasps, 61 caps)
7. Chris Robshaw (captain, Harlequins, 42 caps)
8. Nick Easter (Harlequins, 53 caps)


16. Jamie George (Saracens, 2 caps)
17. Joe Marler (Harlequins, 36 caps)
18. David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 43 caps)
19. George Kruis (Saracens, 9 caps)
20. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 41 caps)
21. Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 26 caps)
22. Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 15 caps)
23. Mike Brown (Harlequins, 42 caps)

Share this story