Saracens - Isiekwe and Lozowski selected for England

Jun 16, 2017

Isiekwe and Lozowski selected for England

Two Saracens players have been selected by Eddie Jones for England’s second and final Test in Santa Fe on Saturday evening, with kick off at 20H15 UK time and the match being broadcast live on BBC2.

There are three changes to the starting line-up that beat the Pumas 38-34 last weekend in San Juan. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) returns to the back row after recovering from an ankle injury. Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby) will make his debut at openside flanker while Piers Francis (Northampton Saints) will start at inside centre. Both Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) and Alex Lozowski (Saracens) move to the bench.

“We know we will need to improve our performance from last weekend if we are going to win on Saturday but we have prepared in detail and intensely this week,” said Jones.

“Argentina will be a much better and stronger side than last weekend so the message to the guys all week has been; it’s up to us to raise our levels.

“It is great to welcome back Chris Robshaw into the squad. He would have been disappointed to miss the first Test but has worked hard to be ready for this weekend. Robbo has been one of England’s best players over the last two years and he will add a lot of experience and work rate into our backrow. It will also be exciting to see Sam Underhill make his debut too having been unfortunate not to play last week because of injury.

“Despite missing 30 players on this tour, we set out to win the series 2-0. It would be a fantastic achievement for this young and talented squad to do that. On Saturday we want to finish the season and the halfway point of a four-year World Cup programme on a real high.”


England squad to play Argentina

15. Mike Brown

14. Marland Yarde 

13. Henry Slade 

12. Piers Francis 

11. Jonny May 

10. George Ford

9. Danny Care

1. Ellis Genge 

2. Dylan Hartley (captain)

3. Harry Williams 

4. Charlie Ewels

5. Joe Launchbury 

6. Chris Robshaw 

7. Sam Underhill 

8. Nathan Hughes 



16. Jack Singleton 

17. Matt Mullan 

18. Will Collier 

19. Nick Isiekwe 

20. Mark Wilson

21. Jack Maunder 

22. Alex Lozowski

23. Denny Solomona


England’s two-Test tour of Argentina:

Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario, San Juan, 10 June, Argentina 34 - England 38

Estadio Brigadier General Estanislao Lopez, Santa Fe, 17 June, kick-off 20H15

Share this story