Saracens - Nine Saracens included in England Pre-Season Training Squad

Aug 02, 2018

Nine Saracens included in England Pre-Season Training Squad

Nine Saracens have been called up to England’s 44-man pre-season training squad with Michael Rhodes and Joel Kpoku receiving their first call-ups to the EPS.

The seven other players – who all toured South Africa in the summer – are Owen Farrell, Alex Lozowski, Ben Spencer, Mako Vunipola, Jamie George, Maro Itoje and Nick Isiekwe.

The camp will take place at the Lensbury Hotel from Saturday 4th August until Monday 6th August.
Eddie Jones said: “This is a pre-season camp so a lot of our players, particularly the ones who went on the South African tour, have just started training with their clubs so it’s just a chance to get a group of players together to have a chat about the season ahead and look at the important areas in developing the team. With just over 12 months until the Rugby World Cup, it is an important time.
"We haven’t selected everyone. There are a number of players we rested from the tour that we have allowed to continue their pre-season with their clubs.
"This camp is all about individual preparation, it’s about looking to see how we can help each of the players improve, how we can help with their selection for the national team because we have 44 players coming in plus another 15 who are strongly in contention for the Quilter Internationals in November."
England’s next training camp will be Sunday 23 September until Tuesday 25 September in Bristol before joining up on Wednesday 24 October to prepare for the Quilter Internationals in November.

Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Cipriani (Gloucester Rugby)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Nathan Earle (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)
Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Joe Marchant (Harlequins)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)
Dan Robson (Wasps)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Spencer (Saracens)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
James Haskell (Northampton Saints)
Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)
Paul Hill (Northampton Saints)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
Nick Isiekwe (Saracens)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
Joel Kpoku (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Michael Rhodes (Saracens)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)
Will Spencer (Leicester Tigers)
Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Share this story