Saracens - Resolution Impala Saracens Seeking To Continue Unbeaten Run

Dec 02, 2016

Resolution Impala Saracens Seeking To Continue Unbeaten Run

Going into the Ngong Road Derby, James Kubasu & Richard Sidindi will be the only absentees from the  starting Gazelles' line up that took on Menengai Cream Homeboyz last weekend.

Impala Saracens come into this game off the back of four consectuve wins, the last of which being their 42-29 defeat over Homeboyz last weekend as they go head to head with their local rivals Kenya Harlequins and look to confirm their dominance over their rivals after their Floodlit Semi Final win over Quins earlier this year. 

Last season, Impala lost to Quins on both occasions; home 22-29 and away 23-25. The Gazelles were however solid enough to get through to the Kenya Cup finals, only to lose 5-22 to Sugar millers Kabras RFC under torrential rain.

In team news, Impala are forced to make a number of changes to their side from last weekend. The experienced Dennis ‘Daddex’ Karani pulls on the number one jersey to replace James Kubasu while Derrick Mayar, who missed out on the Kenya Sevens team to Dubai, replaces Sidindi who starts off the bench.

It is not only Impala who head into this wekened's game with an unbeaten run to protect. Quins are also unbeaten in their last four matches so this could be the weekend where one of the two rivals blots the other's clean record.

Speaking to local journalist Daniel Wahome Fred Ollow, Director of Rugby, said  "Quins have the forward play, Impala’s backline is superb. Response to the plays shall win the game" while coach Joel Ng'ang'a insisted the focus for Saracens is staying at the top of the Kenya Cup table. 

There has been much hype around the game this week and with two teams in top form and with a healthy rivalry between them, this could be the Kenya Cup match of the season. 

Impala Saracens starting XV

1. Dennis Karani 2. Kelvins Karani 3. Anthony Orege 4. Eric Kerre

5. Simon Muniafu 6. Joel Omer (C) 7. Paul Mutsami

8. Duncan Ekasi 9. Mohammed Omollo 10. Nato Simiyu

11. Derrick Mayar 12. Kevin Ochami 13. Anthony Nyandigisi 14. Quinto Ongo

15. George Okowa


16. Daniel Ndome 17. Edgar Obino 18. Meshack Tunechi 19. Harritone Munai

20. Steve Shammah 21. Richard Sidindi 22. David Dinda 23. Mark Kwemoi

Share this story