Saracens - Saracen name team to face Gloucester

Nov 16, 2017

Saracen name team to face Gloucester

Saracens have named their side to face Gloucester in round eight of the Aviva Premiership on Friday evening at Kingsholm, kick-off 19h45.

Sean Maitland returns to the Saracens starting line-up, after recovering from an ankle injury to take his place in the back-three alongside Alex Goode (full-back) and Chris Wyles (left wing). Brad Barritt will skipper the side for inside centre, with Nick Tompkins named alongside him in the Sarries midfield. Returning England man Alex Lozowski is named at fly-half and he will partner Richard Wigglesworth in the halves.

Up front, Richard Barrington, Schalk Brits and Juan Figallo make up the Sarries front-row, with Will Skelton starting his first Aviva Premiership game of the season alongside another returning England player, George Kruis, at lock. In the back-row, Calum Clark is named at blindside flanker, with Schalk Burger named on the opposite flank – Jackson Wray packs down at No8.

On the bench, Les Blues hooker Christopher Tolofua returns from international duty against the All Blacks to take his place alongside Hayden Thompson-Stringer and Vincent Koch as the front-row replacements. Nick Isiekwe returns from England training to take his place on the bench, with Joel Conlon the back-row cover. Ben Spencer, Marcelo Bosch and Nathan Earle are the half-back and backs cover.

Saracens team to face Gloucester (Saracens appearances)

15 Alex Goode (240)

14 Sean Maitland (25)

13 Nick Tompkins (65)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (203)

11 Chris Wyles (235)

10 Alex Lozowski (39)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (194)

1 Richard Barrington (115)

2 Schalk Brits (210)

3 Juan Figallo (67)

4 Will Skelton (12)

5 George Kruis (143)

6 Calum Clark (6)

7 Schalk Burger (32)

8 Jackson Wray (182)


16 Christopher Tolofua (5)

17 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (16)

18 Vincent Koch (24)

19 Nick Isiekwe (15)

20 Joel Conlon (16)

21 Ben Spencer (111)

22 Marcelo Bosch (102)

23 Nathan Earle (25)


Referee: Karl Dickson (1st Premiership game).

Assistant Referees: Peter Allan & Jack Makepeace.

TMO: David Rose.

Citing Officer: Steve Savage.

How to follow 

TV – Live on BT Sport, kick off 19H45

Radio – BBC Radio Gloucestershire

Twitter – live commentary via @saracens

Social – Coverage across Facebook, @saracensofficial, and Instagram, @saracensofficial

Share this story