Saracens - Saracens at Wembley - In Numbers

Apr 07, 2017

Saracens at Wembley - In Numbers

2009 surely wasn’t that long ago, was it?

Yes, yes it was, 8 years in fact.

A lot of water has passed under the bridge since Sarries’ first trip down Wembley Way, a 13-9 victory over Northampton Saints in September 2009.

Back then, Jay Z’s ‘Run This Town’ was topping of the charts, selfies and hashtags were unheard of and Maro Itoje was just 14 years old…!

Anyway, since then, we have played a grand total of 13 games under the famous arch, can you remember them all?  No? Okay, here’s a little statistical breakdown of what’s happened in our games since then…

Let’s start with your brilliant support. The average attendance over the 13 games overall is 56,817. However, if you break it down to our last four #DerbyDay games on the hallowed turf then the figure is 83,092.

Remarkably, this is higher than the average 82,611 people who have watched the last four England football internationals at Wembley, including games against Scotland and Spain!

Following on from that, the 9 wins, 2 defeats and a draw have seen an average of 24.5 points scored and 17.5 points conceded. A grand total of 45 tries have been scored at an average of 3.5 per game.

The most prolific Saracens player in terms of crossing the whitewash is rather unsurprisingly Chris Ashton. The 30-year-old has scored 5 tries in three visits to Wembley, including braces in his last two Derby Days.

Following closely behind is Chris Wyles, touching down on four occasions while Ernst Joubert and Andy Saull have scored thee apiece.

In terms of points scoring, Owen Farrell tops the list with 70 points scored since his Wembley berth against Leinster way back in 2010.

Following not-so-closely behind are Glen Jackson and Derek Hougaard with 38 and 28 points respectively.

Tickets are still on sale for Saturday’s match and for more info head to

Saracens @ Wembely

2009 - Saracens 19 Northampton Saints 16

2009 - Saracens 24 South Africa 23

2010 - Saracens 25 Worcester Warriors 20

2010 - Saracens 37 Harlequins - 18

2010 - Saracens 23 Leinster 25

2010 - Saracens 13 Wasps 6

2011 - Saracens 31 Ospreys 26

2012 - Saracens 19 Harlequins 24

2012 - Saracens 9 Leicester Tigers 9

2013 - Saracens 16 Toulouse 17

2014 - Saracens 39 Harlequins 17

2015 - Saracens 42 Harlequins 14

2016 - Saracens 22 Harlequins 12

Share this story