Saracens - Saracens duo up for Six Nations award

Mar 20, 2017

Saracens duo up for Six Nations award

After helping England secure a back-to-back RBS 6 Nations title Saracens duo Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje have been nominated for the Player of the Championship 2017.

After a thrilling championship, voting for the prestigious RBS Player of the Championship award is now open.

Farrell, who excelled at inside centre and was an ever present for England throughout the tournament in which he scored 63 points, the second highest in the Championship.

Itoje featured in the uncustomary blindside flanker role throughout the Championship but still excelled for Eddie Jones’ side.

The rest of the home nations have two nominees each, with last year's winner Stuart Hogg selected alongside Scotland team-mate Finn Russell.

Scrum-half Conor Murray and back row CJ Stander are shortlisted for Ireland.

Wales scrum-half Rhys Webb and hooker Ken Owens are also included.

France fly-half Camille Lopez - the 2017 top points scorer - and team-mate Louis Picamoles make the list, as does Italy captain Sergio Parisse.

Accenture, Official Technology Partner of the RBS 6 Nations, has worked very closely with Accenture Analysis Team member, and former South Africa and Italy coach, Nick Mallett, to draw up a shortlist of 12 players who have displayed specialist skills and outstanding ability throughout the whole Championship.

Voting closes at noon on Tuesday 21st March 2017. Click here to vote.

Complete Shortlist

Owen Farrell - England

Stuart Hogg – Scotland

Maro Itoje – England

Joe Launchbury – England

Camile Lopez – France

Conor Murray – Ireland

Ken Owens - Wales

Sergio Parisse – Italy

Louis Picamoles – France

Finn Russell – Scotland

CJ Stander – Ireland

Rhys Webb – Wales

Voting is open to the public on the Six Nations website and closes at 12:00 GMT on Tuesday 21 March.


Share this story