Saracens - Saracens family comes together for Big Bash

May 15, 2019

Saracens family comes together for Big Bash

Tuesday night saw the Saracens family come together at Allianz Park to celebrate the Big Bash.

The fans of Saracens Men, Saracens Women and Saracens Mavericks joined the players and staff of each team to reflect on what has been a momentous season for all.

Saracens Men secured their third European Cup on the weekend and still have the Gallagher Premiership play-offs to come, while Storm won the Premiership Rugby Shield on Monday.

Saracens Women lifted the Tyrrells Premier 15s for the second successive year and the Development side stormed to the title too. Mavericks pushed the top teams all the way as they just missed out on the play-offs in the Vitality Netball Superleague.

Awards were handed out to players from each team and there were accolades for supporters too.

Perhaps the highest honour due is being voted by teammates, three worthy winners were awarded Players’ Player of the Season. Will Skelton has had a monstrous campaign for the Men; Sarah McKenna starred in her first season back at Sarries; the exciting talent Razia Quashie has had a stellar year with the Mavericks.

Alex Goode, European Player of the Year, was marked by the fans as their Player of the Year. Rosie Galligan was awarded the Saracens Women Coaches’ Player of the Year with GK/GD Jo Trip picking up the Mavericks equivalent. 

Full list of winners:

Saracens Men
Try of the Season - Alex Lewington vs Leicester Tigers (A)
Peter Deakin Community Player of the Year - Calum Clark
Academy Player of the Year - Sean Reffell
Young Player of the Year - Titi Lamositele
Fans’ Player of the Year - Alex Goode
Richard Hill Players’ Player of the Year - Will Skelton 

Saracens Women
Try of the Season - Georgie Lingham vs Richmond
SSA Women’s Player of the Year - Poppy Cleall
Players’ Player of the Year - Sarah McKenna
Coaches’ Player of the Year - Rosie Galligan  

Saracens Mavericks
Most Improved Player of the Year - Georgia Lees
Coaches’ Player of the Year - Jo Trip
Players’ Player of the Year - Razia Quashie 

Jerry Russell Award for Services to the DPP - Joe Clarke
Brian Smith Long-Standing Supporter of the Year - Peter Harvey
Outstanding Supporter of the Year - Malcom Denton

Share this story