Saracens - Saracens name side for Oyonnax test

Dec 18, 2015

Saracens name side for Oyonnax test

Saracens have named their side to face Oyonnax in round four of the European Champions Cup at Allianz Park, Saturday 13h00.

Saracens face the Top 14 side Oyonnax for the second time in as many weeks and director of rugby Mark McCall has rotated his squad for the Pool 1 clash, making eight changes to starting XV from last weekend’s six try win over in France.

Up front, in come Schalk Brits (hooker) and Petrus Du Plessis (tighthead prop) to join Mako Vunipola (loosehead prop) in the front row, with Jamie George and Juan Figallo reverting to the bench.

At lock, Jim Hamilton and Maro Itoje continue, with Alistair Hargreaves and George Kruis missing out with both carrying slight knocks.

In the back-row, in come Jackson Wray (blindside flanker) and Kelly Brown (openside flanker), whilst Samuela Vunisa comes in for Billy Vunipola at No8, with the England international just missing out with a knee injury.

In the halves, evergreen scrumhalf Neil De Kock rotates with Richard Wigglesworth to start at No9 alongside the in-form Owen Farrell.

At centre, Brad Barritt continues to skipper the side and he will be partnered by Duncan Taylor who returns to the side in the place of Marcelo Bosch who is rested.

In the back three, fresh from making his European debut in last weekend’s 45-10 win away to Oyonnax, Mike Ellery comes into the side for the tournaments leading try scorer, Chris Wyles, on the left wing. Ellery will link-up with Chris Ashton and Alex Goode.

Saracens director of rugby, Mark McCall: “This week we’ve had a chance to fine-tune some aspects of our game. We have reviewed some of the things we have done well over in Oyonnax and we’ve looked to work on improving some aspects of our play that maybe weren’t up to standard. We’re looking forward to another big challenge this Saturday.”

Saracens team to face Oyonnax

15 Alex Goode (192)

14 Chris Ashton (85)

13 Duncan Taylor (75)

12 Brad Barritt © (152)

11 Mike Ellery (12)

10 Owen Farrell (121)

9 Neil De Kock (241)

1 Mako Vunipola (85)

2 Schalk Brits (154)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (109)

4 Jim Hamilton (28)

5 Maro Itoje (37)

6 Jackson Wray (122)

7 Kelly Brown (117)

8 Samuela Vunisa (2)


16 Jamie George (138)

17 Richard Barrington (61)

18 Juan Figallo (20)

19 Michael Rhodes (7)

20 Will Fraser (64)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (135)

22 Charlie Hodgson (114)

23 Ben Ransom (52)

Share this story