Saracens - Saracens name side for trip to The Stoop

Jan 08, 2016

Saracens name side for trip to The Stoop

Saracens have named their side to face Harlequins at The Stoop in round 8 of the Aviva Premiership, Saturday kick-off 15h00.

Billy Vunipola will bring up a half century of appearances for Saracens with the England back rower named at No8 alongside Jackson Wray (blindside flanker) and Will Fraser (openside flanker) in the back row.

Elsewhere in the pack, Mako Vunipola and Petrus Du Plessis continue at loosehead prop and tighthead prop respectively, with Jamie George skippering the side from hooker. On the bench, Jared Saunders, Rhys Gill and Titi Lamositele are the front row replacements – Juan Figallo just misses out with a slight knock.

At lock, Jim Hamilton comes onto the side to rotate with Maro Itoje, with the former Scotland man joining George Kruis at second row.

At half-back, Mark McCall rotates his playmakers with Neil De Kock (scrum-half) and Owen Farrell (fly-half) both returning to the side, with Richard Wigglesworth and Charlie Hodgson reverting to the bench.

At centre, Brad Barritt misses the game with a slight knock and has not been risked, he will be replaced by the in-form Duncan Taylor at inside centre. Taylor is partnered by Marcelo Bosch in the Saracens midfield.

In the back three, Chris Ashton continues on the right wing with Mike Ellery coming into the side for Chris Wyles (who is rested) on the left wing. Alex Goode continues at full-back.

Mark McCall, director of rugby: “Harlequins have been a good team for some time and I think they have a really healthy squad at the moment. We just want to keep the momentum going, and keep fronting up to play as well as we can. We’re in a good place but we know this will be a tough game at The Stoop on Saturday.”

Saracens team to face Harlequins

15 Alex Goode (195*)

14 Chris Ashton (88)

13 Marcelo Bosch (51)

12 Duncan Taylor (78)

11 Mike Ellery (13)

10 Owen Farrell (124)

9 Neil de Kock (243)

1 Mako Vunipola (88)

2 Jamie George © (141)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (112)

4 Jim Hamilton (31)

5 George Kruis (112)

6 Jackson Wray (124)

7 Will Fraser (67)

8 Billy Vunipola (49)


16 Jared Saunders (25)

17 Rhys Gill (151)

18 Titi Lamositele (7)

19 Maro Itoje (40)

20 Jacques Burger (104)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (138)

22 Charlie Hodgson (117)

23 Nick Tompkins (24)

*denote Saracens appearances

Tickets for the Storm match are free for Season Ticket Holders with Adult tickets at just £10. Under 16 tickets and parking are also free of charge. - See more at:
Share this story