Saracens - Saracens name side to face Gloucester Rugby

Nov 25, 2016

Saracens name side to face Gloucester Rugby

Saracens have named their side to face Gloucester for Sunday’s round nine Aviva Premiership match at Allianz Park, kick-off 13h00 (live on BT Sport).

Alex Goode will line-up at full-back for Saracens after his release from England camp. The 28-year old will be joined by Mike Ellery (right wing) and Chris Wyles (left wing) in the Sarries back-three. At centre, skipper Brad Barritt continues at inside centre alongside Marcelo Bosch.

In the halves, Alex Lozowski is named at fly-half with Richard Wigglesworth starting at scrum-half.

Up front, Mark McCall makes one change to the starting pack of forwards from Saracens’ round eight win against Sale Sharks with Petrus Du Plessis coming into the starting XV at tighthead prop joining Richard Barrington (loosehead prop) and Schalk Brits (hooker).

Michael Rhodes continue at lock forward and is joined by Jim Hamilton in the second row. Kelly Brown is named at blindside flanker, with Schalk Burger (openside flanker) and Jackson Wray (No8) also starting.

Speaking ahead of the game, director of rugby Mark McCall: “The squad put in a great effort last week at the AJ Bell Stadium It was a hard-fought victory against a competitive Sale Sharks side and we were pleased with the result, but our focus this week though has been on Gloucester and nothing else. They are a good side, with talent throughout their squad and their performance last Saturday against a strong Wasps outfit underlined how dangerous a side they are.”

Saracens team to face Gloucester

15 Alex Goode (216)

14 Mike Ellery (32)

13 Marcelo Bosch (770

12 Brad Barritt (c) (180)

11 Chris Wyles (216)

10 Alex Lozowski (10)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (165)

1 Richard Barrington (93)

2 Schalk Brits (180)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (142)

4 Michael Rhodes (37)

5 Jim Hamilton (58)

6 Kelly Brown (138)

7 Schalk Burger (9)

8 Jackson Wray (153)


16 Jared Saunders (39)

17 Titi Lamositele (24)  

18 Juan Figallo (44)

19 Mark Flanagan (4) 

20 Joel Conlon (3)

21 Ben Spencer (83)

22 Nick Tompkins (45)

23 Andrew Fenby (3)

Share this story