Saracens - Saracens name team for Champions Cup opener

Oct 13, 2017

Saracens name team for Champions Cup opener

Saracens have named their side to face Northampton Saints in round one of the European Rugby Champions Cup away at Franklin’s Gardens, Sunday 17h30.

Fly-half Owen Farrell is back in the starting line-up for Saracens, after the England and British & Irish Lions playmaker had to sit-out his side’s round six Aviva Premiership clash against Wasps last weekend.  Farrell, who has recovered from a slight calf strain, is partnered by Richard Wigglesworth in the halves for Saracens for the Pool 2 match-up with Ben Spencer and Alex Lozowski named on the bench.

Elsewhere in the Saracens backline, Brad Barritt will skipper the side from inside centre with Marcelo Bosch partnering him in a familiar midfield line-up for the Men in Black. In the back three, Alex Goode is named at full-back with Chris Wyles (left wing) and Liam Williams (right wing) also named. Duncan Taylor is the three-quarter replacement on the bench.

Up front, fresh from a hat-trick Man of the Match performance against Wasps Jamie George continues at hooker with Mako Vunipola (loosehead) and Vincent Koch (tighthead) also named to start. Richard Barrington and Juan Figallo are the prop replacements, with Schalk Brits named on the bench after recovering from appendix surgery. At lock, Nick Isiekwe and George Kruis partner each other in the heart of the Saracens engine room, with Maro Itoje (blindside flanker) and Jackson Wray (No8) joining Calum Clark (openside flanker) in the Saracens back row, with Clark facing his former club for the first time since his summer move. On the bench, Dominic Day and Schalk Burger are the lock and loose forward replacements.

Saracens team to face Northampton Saints (Saracens appearances)

15 Alex Goode (237)

14 Liam Williams (4)

13 Marcelo Bosch (101)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (200)

11 Chris Wyles (232)

10 Owen Farrell (156)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (191)

1 Mako Vunipola (125)

2 Jamie George (177)

3 Vincent Koch (21) 

4 Nick Isiekwe (12)

5 George Kruis (140)

6 Maro Itoje (81)

7 Calum Clark (3)

8 Jackson Wray (179)


16 Schalk Brits (208)

17 Richard Barrington (110)

18 Juan Figallo (64)

19 Dominic Day (6)

20 Schalk Burger (29)

21 Ben Spencer (106)

22 Alex Lozowski (36)

23 Duncan Taylor (107)

Share this story