Saracens - Saracens name team for Munster semi final

Apr 21, 2017

Saracens name team for Munster semi final

Saracens have named their side to face Munster for Saturday’s European Rugby Champions Cup semi-final clash at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, kick-off 15h15.

In the week that the British & Irish Lions squad was announced all six of Saracens’ Lions are named in the starting XV for the Champions Cup semi-final at the home of Irish Rugby.

Loosehead prop Mako Vunipola is joined by fellow Lions pick Jamie George in the Saracens front row – they are joined by Springbok international tighthead Vincent Koch, whilst Maro Itoje and George Kruis are named at lock-forward. Billy Vunipola starts at No8 alongside the in-form back-row duo of Michael Rhodes (blindside flanker) and Jackson Wray (openside flanker).

In the halves, scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth partners Owen Farrell. At centre, Brad Barritt captains the side to partner Marcelo Bosch, with the Argentine midfielder making his 50th appearance in the Champions Cup. In the back-three, Sean Maitland (left-wing), Chris Ashton (right-wing) and Alex Goode all start.

On the bench, experienced front-row duo Schalk Brits and Petrus Du Plessis are joined by USA international Titi Lamositele, whilst Jim Hamilton takes his place amongst the replacements after recovering from a back injury. After his comeback game on Easter Sunday, Schalk Burger takes the other forwards replacements spot. Ben Spencer is the replacement scrum-half, with England summer tourist to Argentina Alex Lozowski plus the returning Chris Wyles (another set for his 50th Champions Cup appearance) also named in the matchday 23.

Saracens team to face Munster

15 Alex Goode (226)

14 Chris Ashton (114)

13 Marcelo Bosch (93)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (193)

11 Sean Maitland (19)

10 Owen Farrell (148)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (182)

1 Mako Vunipola (116)

2 Jamie George (168)

3 Vincent Koch (11)

4 Maro Itoje (71)

5 George Kruis (132)

6 Michael Rhodes (53)

7 Jackson Wray (169)

8 Billy Vunipola (74)


16 Schalk Brits (198)

17 Titi Lamositele (42)

18 Petrus Du Plessis (154)

19 Jim Hamilton (71)

20 Schalk Burger (21)

21 Ben Spencer (97)

22 Alex Lozowski (27)

23 Chris Wyles (222)


Share this story