Saracens - Saracens name team for New Year's Day trip to Leicester

Dec 30, 2016

Saracens name team for New Year's Day trip to Leicester

Saracens have named their side for the New Year's Day Aviva Premiership clash away to Leicester Tigers at Welford Road, kick-off 15h00.

In the front-row, Richard Barrington continues at loosehead prop and will pack down alongside Jamie George (hooker) and Juan Figallo (tighthead prop).

Lock forward George Kruis is ruled out of the round 12 Aviva Premiership trip after sustaining a facial injury against Newcastle Falcons as Wallabies lock Will Skelton starts alongside Maro Itoje with former Tigers man Jim Hamilton named on the bench.

In the back row, Schalk Burger continues at openside flanker alongside his compatriot Michael Rhodes (blindside flanker) with Jackson Wray named at No8.

At half-back, Ben Spencer starts at scrum half with Owen Farrell continuing at fly-half.

In the backs, Brad Barritt captains the side alongside Marcelo Bosch from centre whilst in the back three, Chris Ashton returns to the Saracens starting line-up after making a try scoring return from suspension off the bench in last weekend's clash against Newcastle. Ashton is joined by Alex Goode who slots in at full-back with Sean Maitland shifting to the left-wing.

Saracens team to face Leicester Tigers

15 Alex Goode

14 Chris Ashton

13 Marcelo Bosch

12 Brad Barritt ©

11 Sean Maitland

10 Owen Farrell

9 Ben Spencer

1 Richard Barrington

2 Jamie George

3 Juan Figallo

4 Will Skelton

5 Maro Itoje

6 Michael Rhodes

7 Schalk Burger

8 Jackson Wray

16 Schalk Brits

17 Titi Lamositele

18 Petrus Du Plessis

19 Jim Hamilton

20 Kelly Brown

21 Neil De Kock

22 Alex Lozowski

23 Nathan Earle 

Share this story