Saracens - Saracens name team for Newcastle clash in Philly

Sep 15, 2017

Saracens name team for Newcastle clash in Philly

Saracens have named their team for Saturday’s round three Aviva Premiership clash in Philadelphia against Newcastle Falcons, kick off 17h10 (local) 22h10 (UK Time), live on BT Sport.

Billy Vunipola will make his first appearance of the season, with the England No8 named to start in a Saracens side that also includes first starts of the season for British & Irish Lions Mako Vunipola, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, Owen Farrell and Liam Williams. England lock-forward Nick Isiekwe is rewarded for a strong start to the season with a starting jersey at lock-forward with George Kruis still side-lined with an ankle injury.

In the back-three, Wales international Liam Williams makes his first start for Saracens on the right wing, with Chris Wyles returning to his home state of Pennsylvania to start on the left wing. Alex Goode continues at full-back with Brad Barritt skippering the side from inside centre alongside the returning Marcelo Bosch in midfield. At half-back, Ben Spencer will be hoping to keep up his 100% try scoring record this season with a start at scrum-half alongside Owen Farrell who will be starting his first game of the season.

Up front, Mako Vunipola and Jamie George start in the Saracens front-row alongside tighthead prop Juan Figallo. At lock, Maro Itoje lines up alongside Nick Isiekwe in a youthful and exciting second-row pairing with Mike Rhodes (blindside flanker) and Schalk Burger (openside flanker) joining Billy Vunipola in the back-row.

Saracens team to face Newcastle Falcons

15 Alex Goode (233)

14 Liam Williams (1)

13 Marcelo Bosch (98)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (197)

11 Chris Wyles (229)

10 Owen Farrell (153)

9 Ben Spencer (102)

1 Mako Vunipola (121)

2 Jamie George (173)

3 Juan Figallo (60)

4 Nick Isiekwe (8)

5 Maro Itoje (77)

6 Michael Rhodes (59)

7 Schalk Burger (28)

8 Billy Vunipola (78)


16 Christopher Tolofua (1)

17 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (10)

18 Kieran Longbottom (6)

19 Dominic Day (2)

20 Jackson Wray (175)

21 Richard Wigglesworth (188)

22 Nick Tompkins (59)

23 Sean Maitland (22)

Share this story