Saracens - Saracens name team for Oyonnax clash

Dec 11, 2015

Saracens name team for Oyonnax clash

Saracens have named their side to face US Oyonnax at the Stade Charles Mathon for Sunday’s round three Pool 1 European Champions Cup clash, kick-off 13h00.

Saracens travel to the Rhône-Alpes region in eastern France to face the Top 14 side with Brad Barritt skippering the side in Alistair Hargreaves’ absence.

Barritt starts at inside centre and will link up with Marcelo Bosch in the Saracens midfield – Duncan Taylor misses the game with a slight knock.

In the back three, Chris Wyles and Chris Ashton are named on the wings with Alex Goode starting at full-back – wing Mike Ellery is named as a replacement.

In the halves, both Richard Wigglesworth (scrum-half) and Owen Farrell (fly-half) return to the Saracens starting XV, with Neil de Kock and Charlie Hodgson named on the bench.

Up front, Jamie George is named at hooker alongside Mako Vunipola (loosehead) and Juan Figallo (tighthead). On the bench, Rhys Gill will make his 150th appearance for the club if he features. He is joined by the experienced duo of Schalk Brits and Petrus Du Plessis as Saracens’ front row replacements.

At lock, Jim Hamilton comes in for George Kruis who misses out with a slight knock to start alongside Maro Itoje. Kelly Brown returns to the matchday 23 to take his place on the bench.

In the back row, Will Fraser continues at openside flanker to join Mike Rhodes (blindside flank) and Billy Vunipola (No8) as Saracens’ loose-forward trio. Jackson Wray is the back row replacement.

Saracens team to face Oyonnax

15 Alex Goode (191)
14 Chris Ashton (84)
13 Marcelo Bosch (48)
12 Brad Barritt © (151)
11 Chris Wyles (186)
10 Owen Farrell (120)
9 Richard Wigglesworth (134)
1 Mako Vunipola (84)
2 Jamie George (137)
3 Juan Figallo (19)
4 Jim Hamilton (27)
5 Maro Itoje (36)
6 Michael Rhodes (6)
7 Will Fraser (64)
8 Billy Vunipola (46)


16 Schalk Brits (153)
17 Rhys Gill (149)
18 Petrus Du Plessis (108)
19 Kelly Brown (116)
20 Jackson Wray (121)
21 Neil De Kock (240)
22 Charlie Hodgson (113)
23 Mike Ellery (11)

Numbers denote Saracens appearances

Share this story