Saracens - Saracens name team to face Glasgow Warriors

Mar 31, 2017

Saracens name team to face Glasgow Warriors

Saracens have named their side to face Glasgow Warriors in Sunday’s European Rugby Champions Cup clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 13h00.


Saracens have named an unchanged starting XV from the side that beat Bath with the north Londoners’ solitary change to the matchday 23 being scrumhalf Ben Spencer, who comes back onto the bench after recovering from a leg injury.


Alex Goode starts at full-back alongside Scotland Six Nations wing Sean Maitland and Chris Ashton in the back-three. At centre, Marcelo Bosch continues to partner skipper Brad Barritt in a familiar looking Sarries midfield. Owen Farrell is named at fly-half and he is partnered by Richard Wigglesworth in the halves.


Up front, England pair Mako Vunipola (loosehead prop) and Jamie George (hooker) continue in the Saracens starting line-up alongside Juan Figallo in the Saracens front-row. Maro Itoje is named at lock to join Jim Hamilton, whilst in the back-row Billy Vunipola is named at No8 and is joined by Michael Rhodes (blindside flanker) and Jackson Wray (openside flanker).


In injury news, Schalk Burger misses out with a calf injury whilst George Kruis (knee), Chris Wyles (leg), Will Fraser (back) and Richard Barrington (hand) are also unavailable for selection.


Speaking ahead of the game, director of rugby Mark McCall said: “The Warriors are a team we have a huge respect for. They have been building as a side and in this year's competition they have produced some fantastic performances against sides who have real European pedigree in Leicester Tigers and Racing 92. We are well aware of how much the occasion means to them as a club, but this is also a competition that is dear to our hearts, and one that I know the players love being a part of  - Sunday’s quarter final is a prime of example of how special the Champions Cup can be.”


Saracens team to face Glasgow Warriors


15 Alex Goode (223)

14 Chris Ashton (111)

13 Marcelo Bosch (91)

12 Brad Barritt (c) (191)

11 Sean Maitland (16)

10 Owen Farrell (146)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (180)

1 Mako Vunipola (114)

2 Jamie George (166)

3 Juan Figallo (57)

4 Maro Itoje (69)

5 Jim Hamilton (69)

6 Michael Rhodes (51)

7 Jackson Wray (166)

8 Billy Vunipola (71)




16 Schalk Brits (194)

17 Titi Lamositele (38)

18 Vincent Koch (8)

19 Kelly Brown (152)

20 Joel Conlon (10)

21 Ben Spencer (95)

22 Alex Lozowski (24)

23 Duncan Taylor (97)

Share this story