Saracens - Saracens name team to face Leicester

Feb 03, 2017

Saracens name team to face Leicester

Saracens have named their side to face Leicester Tigers in Sunday’s round four Anglo-Welsh Cup clash at Allianz Park, kick-off 16h00.

Loosehead prop Richard Barrington returns to the side for Sunday’s game, taking his place in the front-row alongside Jared Saunders at hooker and Petrus Du Plessis at tighthead. Academy forward Brian Tuilagi will make his Saracens debut from lock-forward to partner Mark Flanagan at second-row.

In the back-row, Will Fraser is named at openside flanker alongside Joel Conlon (blindside flanker) and Samu Vunisa (No8).

At halfback, Henry Taylor is named a scrumhalf and will line-up alongside Saracens’ leading points-scorer in the Anglo-Welsh Cup, Tom Whiteley (27 points).

In the centre, Tim Streather will captain the side alongside Nick Tompkins whilst in the back-three Nathan Earle starts on the right-wing alongside last week’s try-scorers Mike Ellery (right-wing) and Matt Gallagher (full-back).

On the bench, Scott Spurling, Titi Lamositele and Billy Walker are the front-row cover with Kelly Brown and Ealing Trailfinders’ flanker Seb Nagle-Taylor the forward cover. Neil De Kock is the half-back cover with Scotland international Duncan Taylor named on the bench as he continues his recovery from an ankle injury. Rotimi Segun completes the list of replacements.

Saracens coach, Ian Vass: “Leicester Tigers will arrive at Allianz Park full of confidence on the back of last weekend’s win over Northampton Saint, but our young side will learn a great deal from playing a team the stature of Leicester.

“So far in this tournament we have seen nine-players make their debuts for the Club. Of that nine, eight have come through or are still part of the academy system which is great news for the Club, as we have a commitment of giving young players the chance to prove themselves. Hopefully games like Sunday’s are the beginning of a long and successful journey for them as we to see them follow in the footsteps of several our senior players who have come through the ranks and become a fixture in the Saracens system. “

Saracens team to face Leicester Tigers

15 Matt Gallagher (6)

14 Mike Ellery (34)

13 Tim Streather (c) (28)

12 Nick Tompkins (52)

11 Nathan Earle (13)

10 Tom Whiteley (3)

9 Henry Taylor (3)

1 Richard Barrington (102)

2 Jared Saunders (41)

3 Petrus Du Plessis (147)

4 Mark Flanagan (5)

5 Brian Tuilagi (0)

6 Joel Conlon (6)

7 Will Fraser (80)

8 Samu Vunisa (10)


16 Scott Spurling (21)

17 Titi Lamositele (32)

18 Billy Walker (3)

19 Kelly Brown (145)

20 Seb Nagle-Taylor (Ealing Trailfinders)

21 Neil De Kock (259)

22 Duncan Taylor (94)

23 Rotimi Segun (1)

Share this story