Saracens - Saracens U18s Draw with London Irish

Feb 04, 2018

Saracens U18s Draw with London Irish

Saracens and London Irish scored three tries apiece as they drew their Round 4 Academy League clash 21-21 at Hazelwood on Saturday.

Within the first 5 minutes of the game Saracens scored their first try, it was scored by blindside flanker Dylan Taylor. In the build-up, a London Irish player took a bad knock and time out was called – leaving both teams out of action for 10minutes. Once the player was safety removed from the pitch time started again and our Charlie Watson converted the try.

Just before the half-time whistle, London Irish’s outside-centre scored their first try which was converted to make the score 7-7. After 10 minutes of play in the 2nd half, London Irish got their second try, which was again converted.

Not long after this Saracens got their second try – scored by full-back Max Bliss before being converted by Charlie Watson. On the hour mark, London Irish got their third and final try from their scrum-half, which was again converted. With 5 minutes to go, Jonathan Kpoku clinched a dramatic draw as he scored Saracens' third and final try, again converted by Charlie Watson, bringing the final score to 21-21.

Mike Hynard, Academy manager had this to say:

“The players spoke really well after the game where they aired their frustrations about the performance. We should not lose sight of the fact that we played a London Irish team that were very physical and produced a clever tactical game plan that put us under pressure for a considerable percentage of the game.

"Despite the lack of flow top the game, there were some really good individual performances. The challenge for next week is to look at this game and fix a couple of areas that will enable us to seek more opportunities to attack. I am certain that this group will learn a lot from this game and will look to bounce back with an improved performance next Friday night against Exeter U18s”.

Next game: Saracens U18s v Exeter Chiefs U18s, Friday 9th February, Allianz Park, Kick off 19.00 – open to the public.

Saracens team:

15 Max Bliss (Dulwich College)

14 Oliver Bluck (New Hall)

13 Tom Hitchcock (Felsted)

12 Charlie Watson (King's Canterbury)

11 David Jimoh-Ibrahim (New Hall)

10 Manu Vunipola (Harrow)

9 Matteo Petrozzi (Tonbridge)

1 Kapeli Pifleti (Haileybury)

2 Sam Crean (Harrow)

3 Harvey Beaton (Sutton Valence) 

4 Ollie Stonham (Felsted)

5 Cameron Boon (c) (Bishop Stortford College)

6 Tobias Munday (Harrow)

7 Dylan Taylor (Tonbridge)

8 Alfie Scopes (Judd)


16 Theodore Dan (Alleyn's)

17 Tom Harris (Tonbridge)

18 Harry Sturge (Felsted)

19 Jonathan Kpoku (Oaklands College)

20 Ethan Benson (Hayes School)

21 Rory Hazelton – Whitgift

22 Josh Barton - Berkhamsted

23 Jake Morris – Bishop Stortford College.

Share this story