Saracens - Sarries quartet named for Red Roses opener

Nov 16, 2017

Sarries quartet named for Red Roses opener

England Women head coach Simon Middleton has named his match-day 23 ahead of the Red Roses' first Test against Canada at Allianz Park on Friday 17 November (KO 19:30, live stream on Poppy Cleall earns her first start for England at No.8 alongside Marlie Packer in the backrow, whilst Zoe Harrison and Hannah Botterman are set to make their international debuts off the bench. 

Simon Middleton said “Our priority is to win the series and keep our winning momentum going from last season. With selection we said from the outset we would pick on form, selecting players who are playing outstandingly well for their clubs. It’s a strong blend of youth and experience.

“I’m excited to see what the new, young players will bring win terms of their skill sets and pace. As a group they are very accomplished and have earned selection based on merit. That’s real testimony to the pathway, the U20s and the work they have been doing in their clubs. Alongside our more experienced players we know they will be given a great platform to play off and we have full confidence they will showcase their talents.

Middleton added “We have had some great matches with Canada and we are really looking forward to getting the series underway in what we know will be a tough and physical encounter.”

England has played Canada a total of 25 times, winning 21 of those, including the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup final. The two sides most recently met in Christchurch, New Zealand during the International Womens Rugby Series in June, with England securing a hard fought 27-20 win.
England Women match-day 23, Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
*denotes uncapped player

15. Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies, 74 caps)
14. Abigail Dow* (Wasps FC Ladies, uncapped)
13. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 72 caps)
12. Amber Reed (Bristol Ladies, 44 caps)
11. Jess Breach* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)
10. Katy Daley- Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 91 caps)
9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 13 caps)

1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 27 caps)
2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 33 caps)
3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 10 caps)
4. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 21 caps)
5. Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC, 40 caps)
6. Sarah Hunter © (Loughborough Lightning, 98 caps)
7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 51 caps)
8. Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 15 caps) 

16. Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries, 3 caps)
17. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 129 caps)
18. Hannah Botterman*(Saracens Women, uncapped)
19. Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 109 caps)
20. Shaunagh Brown* (Harlequins Ladies, uncapped)
21. Caity Mattinson*(Bristol Ladies, uncapped)
22. Zoe Harrison * (Saracens Women, uncapped)
23. Ellie Kildunne *(Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, uncapped)

Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
17th November - Allianz Park (KO 19:30, live stream via
England Women v Canada
Tickets available via

21st November – Twickenham Stoop (KO 19:45, live Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada
Tickets available via
25th November – Twickenham Stadium (KO 17:40, live Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada

Share this story