Saracens - Sarries quartet selected for Commonwealth Games

Mar 26, 2018

Sarries quartet selected for Commonwealth Games

Team England head coach James Bailey has named his squad that will compete at the inaugural women’s rugby sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast, Australia (13th – 15th April). Deborah Fleming will join Olympians Claire Allan and Emily Scott down under, with Vicky Fleetwood named as traveling reserve. 

As a new squad, the players and management have worked tremendously hard to bring this squad together and also transition the experienced 15s players back to sevens within in a short time frame," said Bailey.

“We have really benefitted and developed a lot from competing on the World Series and at numerous invitational tournaments, against some of the best teams in the world, in order to be ready for this tournament.

“We have a lot of incredibly talented, world class players in this side who are willing to work exceptionally hard for each other – and it’s that level of dedication and commitment that we’re hoping will bring success at the Games."

England are drawn in Pool B and will kick off the opening day against Fiji, before facing Australia. On day two England face Wales in their last pool game.

Team England squad

Claire Allan

Abbie Brown ©

Lydia Thompson

Emily Scarratt

Natasha Hunt

Deborah Fleming

Heather Fisher

Emily Scott

Alex Matthews

Megan Jones

Jess Breach

Amy Wilson Hardy

Travelling reserve: Vicky Fleetwood

Share this story