Saracens - Sarries trio named in Red Roses squad

Nov 24, 2017

Sarries trio named in Red Roses squad

Poppy Cleall, Marlie Packer and Zoe Harrison have been named in the Red Roses squad in their final Old Mutual Wealth Test against Canada tomorrow at Twickenham Stadium. 

Packer and Harrison have featured in all three matches with Cleall returning to the side after missing the second test. England have already won the series after the 79-5 and 49-12 wins in the opening two fixtures and will be looking to complete a whitewash at the home of England Rugby.

Lagi Tuima makes her first start for England at outside centre after her debut on Tuesday, with Abigail Dow, Jess Breach, Vickii Cornborough, Abbie Scott, Poppy Cleall and Rowena Burnfield the other changes. Justine Lucas is set for her first appearance of the series from the bench after recovering from injury.

The Red Roses game will take place after the senior men's match at Twickenham Stadium with kick-off at 17:40 and entry is free for all of those who attend.

“We set our stall out at the beginning of the series to win every game and we are focused on delivering on that," said Middleton.

"It’s not going to be easy, as expected Canada were a very different side on Tuesday and we expect them to be better again come Saturday.

“As a team we are looking to improve certain areas of our play. We have done some great things across both games, particularly in our defence and finishing, but now we want to bring it together and deliver a more complete performance on Saturday."

England Women match day 23, Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017

15. Danielle Waterman (Wasps FC Ladies, 76 caps)
14. Abigail Dow (Wasps FC Ladies, 1 cap)
13. Lagi Tuima (Bristol Ladies, 1 cap)
12. Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies, 74 caps)
11. Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies, 1 cap)
10. Katy Daley-Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 93 caps)
9. Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies, 15 caps)

1. Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies, 33 caps)
2. Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies, 35 caps)
3. Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 12 caps)
4. Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies, 23 caps)
5. Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women, 16 caps)
6. Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC, 41 caps)
7. Marlie Packer (Saracens Women, 53 caps)
8. Sarah Hunter (C) (Loughborough Lightning, 100 caps)

16. Lark Davis (Worcester Valkyries, 5 caps)
17. Rochelle Clark (Wasps FC Ladies, 131 caps)
18. Justine Lucas (Wasps FC Ladies, 27 caps)
19. Catherine O’Donnell (Loughborough Lightning, 1 cap)
20. Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol Ladies, 37 caps)
21. Caity Mattinson (Bristol Ladies, 2 caps)
22. Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women, 2 caps)
23. Ellie Kildunne (Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC, 2 caps)
Old Mutual Wealth Series 2017
England 79-5 Canada
Tries: Breach (6), Burford, Dow (2), Cokayne, Packer, Clark, Kildunne
Conversions: Reed (5), Harrison (2)
England 49-12 Canada
Tries: Kerr, Burford (2), Kildunne (2), Waterman, Botterman, Brown
Conversions: Reed (2), Harrison
Penaltys: Reed

25th November – Twickenham Stadium (KO 17:40, live Sky Sports Arena & Sky Sports Mix)
England Women v Canada

Share this story