Saracens - Sarries trio set to start for England Academy

Nov 20, 2018

Sarries trio set to start for England Academy

Three Saracens Women will start for the England National Academy against Canada Women A at Cobham RFC on Wednesday evening.

Prop Bryony Cleall played in the international against USA Women’s Select last week but has been called up to the full Red Roses squad, leaving Lauren Cattell (fly half), Rosie Galligan (lock) and Georgie Lingham (wing) as the Sarries players involved. 

Detysha Harper replaces Cleall, and there are two other changes to the side which lose 24-25 to the USA last Tuesday, with Merryn Doidge moving from the bench to start at full back and Olivia Jones moving from full back to right wing.
The squad combines a mix of England pathway players and more established names, and is again captained by Richmond FC lock Rowena Burnfield, one of five players with senior international experience.
England Women U20 Head Coach Jo Yapp takes over from Simon Middleton who will remain with the Red Roses during their preparations for their final Quilter Internationals Test against Ireland at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.
She said: “We are looking forward to building on last week’s very tight game against the USA Selects. Canada will bring a different challenge for this squad, but it will be another good test for them as a team and individuals.
“We enjoyed a great crowd at Newbury last week and hope to have the same atmosphere at Cobham again on Wednesday.”

England National Academy team to face Canada Women A:

15. Merryn Doidge (Bristol Bears Women)*
14. Olivia Jones (Loughborough Lightning)
13. Shauna Bennett (Gloucester-Hartpury)*
12. Lauren Cattell (Saracens)**
11. Georgie Lingham (Saracens)
10. Ellie Green (Harlequins)*
9. Megan Davey (Loughborough Lightning)*
1. Detysha Harper (Firwood Waterloo Ladies)*
2. Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women)
3. Sasha Acheson (Gloucester-Hartpury)**
4. Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)** ©
5. Rosie Galligan (Saracens)
6. Katherine Hobson (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
7. Poppy Leitch (Bristol Bears Women)**
8. Elizabeth Crake (Wasps FC Ladies)
16. Hannah West (Wasps FC Ladies)
17. Akina Gondwe  (Worcester Valkyries)*
18. Chloe Edwards (Harlequins)
19. Amelia Buckland-Hurry (Bristol Bears Women)
20. Rianna Manson (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
21. Caity Mattinson (Bristol Bears Women)**
22. Lizzie Goulden (Wasps FC Ladies)
23. Lily Stoegar-Goddard (Bristol Bears Women)
* England Women U20 218/19 squad member
** England Women capped player


Share this story