Saracens - Seven Saracens in England squad

Oct 18, 2018

Seven Saracens in England squad

Seven Saracens have been named in England’s 36-man squad to fly to Portugal next week for a training camp to prepare for the first match of the Quilter Internationals against South Africa.

Owen Farrell will co-captain the side for the four-Test November series while Mike Rhodes is one of eight uncapped players to be selected.

Jamie George, George Kruis, Maro Itoje, Richard Wigglesworth and Alex Lozowski have also earned call-ups.

Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola and Nick Isiekwe are absent through injury.
Head coach Eddie Jones said: “I’m really happy with the squad. We can only control what we can control and injuries have happened. It gives an opportunity for some good new players to play some important Tests for England while players who have been in the squad before, will have to take on more responsibility.
“I have named Dylan and Owen as co-captains for the series. They have both been excellent captains for England in the past and will provide a powerful leadership base for us on and off the field."
England will play South Africa (3rd November), New Zealand (10th November), Japan (17th November) and Australia (24th November) at Twickenham. They will travel to Portugal on Wednesday 24 October to begin their preparations for the four-Test series.
Full squad:

Forwards (20)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) co-captain
Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs)
Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)*
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby)
Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs) 
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Michael Rhodes (Saracens)
Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors)
Brad Shields (Wasps)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
Backs (16)
Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Nathan Earle (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens) co-captain
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Share this story