Saracens - Six Sarries named in England squad to face Wales

Sep 24, 2015

Six Sarries named in England squad to face Wales

England have announced their squad for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup Pool A game against Wales at Twickenham Stadium.

Six Saracens have been included in Stuart Lancaster’s 23-man squad, with Brad Barritt, Owen Farrell and Billy Vunipola all named to start. Owen Farrell starts at No 10 with George Ford moving to the bench while Billy Vunipola comes in at No 8 for Ben Morgan who is still struggling with a knee injury, whilst Brad Barritt will partner Sam Burgess in a new-look midfield combination.

Full-back Alex Goode is included in the 23 for the first time in RWC 2015, and joins fellow Sarries Mako Vunipola and Richard Wigglesworth on the bench.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We have a lot of respect for the Wales coaching team and their players, they are a high quality side and I am sure it will some occasion on Saturday evening.

“The support at Twickenham last week was incredible with the crowd really getting behind us and we will need them again this week to lift the players against a tough Wales team.”

England (v Wales, Twickenham Stadium, 8pm BST, Saturday, September 26, 2015)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 40 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 12 caps)
13 Brad Barritt (Saracens, 24 caps)
12 Sam Burgess (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 17 caps)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 32 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 50 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 34 caps)
2 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 25 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps)
4 Geoff Parling (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 41 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 39 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (capt, Harlequins, 40 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 20 caps)

16 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 24 caps)
18 Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints, 13 caps)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 25 caps)
20 James Haskell (Wasps, 60 caps)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 24 caps)
22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 14 caps)
23 Alex Goode (Saracens, 18 caps)

Share this story