Saracens - Six Sarries Women in Red Roses Super Series squad

Jun 10, 2019

Six Sarries Women in Red Roses Super Series squad

Six Saracens Women have been named in the 28 strong England Women’s squad for the Women’s Rugby Super Series in San Diego at the end of June.

Hannah Botterman, Poppy Cleall, Marlie Packer, Ellena Perry, Zoe Harrison and Sarah McKenna will be looking to lay down a marker against Canada, France, New Zealand and USA.

All bar Packer were involved in the England Roses victory over the Barbarians Women two weekends ago with the backrower aiming to make her first appearance since the Women’s Six Nations in March.

Bryony Cleall and Vicky Fleetwood were unavailable for selection due to injury and will continue their return to play plan over the coming weeks.

The squad will assemble today at Bisham Abbey with the first fixture of the Super Series on Friday 28 June against hosts USA.

England Women’s head coach Simon Middleton said: “The Super Series promises to be a superb competition and a great challenge against high-quality opposition. It will provide us with perfect platform to see exactly where we are as a squad and just as crucially how far we still have to go in order to reach the levels we aspire to".

England Women squad for 2019 Super Series
Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Sarah Beckett (Firwood Waterloo Ladies)
Sarah Bern (Bristol Bears Women)
Hannah Botterman (Saracens Women)
Poppy Cleall (Saracens Women)
Vickii Cornborough (Harlequins Ladies)
Lark Davies (Worcester Valkyries)
Chloe Edwards (Harlequins Ladies)
Sarah Hunter (Captain, Loughborough Lightning)
Heather Kerr (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks)
Clara Nielson (Bristol Bears Women)
Cath O'Donnell (Loughborough Lightning)
Marlie Packer (Saracens Women)
Ellena Perry (Saracens Women)
Abbie Scott (Harlequins Ladies)
Zoe Harrison (Saracens Women)
Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Claudia MacDonald (Wasps FC Ladies)
Sarah McKenna (Saracens Women)
Amber Reed (Bristol Bears Women)
Leanne Riley (Harlequins Ladies)
Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning)
Emily Scott (Harlequins Ladies)
Kelly Smith (Gloucester-Hartpury Women)
Lydia Thompson (Worcester Valkyries)
Lagi Tuima (Bristol Bears Women)
Carys Williams (Loughborough Lightning)
Not available for selection due to injury:
Jess Breach (Harlequins Ladies)
Shaunagh Brown (Harlequins Ladies)
Rachael Burford (Harlequins Ladies)
Rowena Burnfield (Richmond FC)
Bryony Cleall (Saracens Women)
Katy Daley-Mclean (Loughborough Lightning)
Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens Women)
Amy Cokayne (Wasps FC Ladies) is also unavailable for selection due to work commitments.
Women’s Rugby Super Series 2019 Schedule
Friday 28 June
Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • Canada v New Zealand
  • England v USA 

Tuesday 2 July
Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France v Canada
  • New Zealand v USA 

Saturday 6 July
Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • France v New Zealand
  • Canada v England 

Wednesday 10 July
Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center

  • England v France
  • Canada v USA 

Sunday 14 July
San Diego State University’s Torero Stadium

  • France v USA
  • New Zealand v England 
Share this story