Saracens - Storm semi final: One's to Watch

Apr 25, 2016

Storm semi final: One's to Watch

Saracens Storm will face Northampton Wanderers tonight in the Aviva A League semi-final at Franklin’s Gardens.

Here we highlight some One’s to Watch, from Kevin Sorrell’s Storm team:

Jared Saunders

The Saracens hooker has been in the thick of the action for Sarries in February and March with the injury to Jamie George during the Six Nations and Schalk Brits’ suspension giving the abrasive South African some much needed game time. A player who never takes a backward step, Saunders will look to put a marker down tonight.

Hayden Smith

The USA international may be bringing down the curtain on his Sarries career, but the multi-talented 31-year old will play a vital role in helping younger forwards such as Jack Nay and Anthony Maka negotiate the Gardens tonight. Up against two fine locks in James Craig and Michael Paterson, the Sydney-born forward will have an influential role to play in tonight’s game.

Jack Nay

“Physical, hard-working, and never stops,” those were the words Storm coach Keviin Sorrell used to describe the work of Jack Nay in this seasons A League. Along with bench players Nick Isiekwe and Ben Earl, and Academy centre Dominic Morris, Nay has represented England at age group level and has impressed in the A Legaue when called upon. Up against some battled hardened back rowers such as Ben Nutley, Nay will have another chance to show his potential tonight.

Nick Tompkins

The Saracens centre has featured 13 times for Sarries in this seasons Aviva Premiership, as he looks to continue his rise from Academy bolter to senior squad regular. An influential player in amongst the young Storm group, Tompkins has real leadership qualities that defy his tender years. A dangerous runner and industrious centre, the former England U20s Junior World Championship winner will look to form a potent midfield partnership with Tim Streather.

Saracens Storm team to face Northampton Wanderers

15 Matt Gallagher

14 Mike Ellery

13 Tim Streather

12 Nick Tompkins

11 Nathan Earle

10 Nils Mordt

9 Ben Spencer

1 Richard Barrington

2 Jared Saunders

3 Titi Lamositele

4 Hayden Smith

5 Kieran Low

6 Jack Nay

7 Anthony Maka

8 Samu Vunisa


16 Josh Taylor

17 Ralph Adams-Hale

18 Biyi Alo

19 Nick Isiekwe

20 Ben Earl

21 Tom Whiteley

22 Aaron Morris

23 Rotimi Segun

Share this story