Saracens - Storm team for Shield final

May 13, 2019

Storm team for Shield final

Saracens Storm take on Newcastle Falcons A in the Premiership Rugby Shield final this evening at Kingston Park (KO 20H00).

A young group with the added experience of Dom Day, Adam Powell’s side have already achieved a lot together this season.

They reached the Premiership Rugby Cup final and the majority were part of the squad which won the Premiership 7s last summer.

Not only that, their last two performances have seen them score 140 points, 89 of which were against Northampton Wanderers in the semi-final.

There are four changes to the starting XV from that night. Manu Vunipola, who is in England Under-20s’ squad for the World Rugby U20 Championships, starts at fly-half in place of sidelined Max Malins.

Another heading to Argentina is Joel Kpoku; he partners Day in the row while Hayden Thompson-Stringer and Andy Christie come in at loosehead and blindside flanker respectively.

Storm team to face Newcastle Falcons A in the Premiership Rugby Shield final:

FORWARDS: Hayden Thompson-Stringer, Tom Woolstencroft, Christian Judge, Dom Day, Joel Kpoku, Andy Christie, Ben Earl, Sione Vailanu.

BACKS: Matt Gallagher, Elliott Obatoyinbo, Dom Morris, Tom Griffiths, Rotimi Segun, Manu Vunipola, Tom Whiteley.

REPLACEMENTS: Christopher Tolofua, Sam Crean, Billy Walker, Cameron Boon, Sean Reffell, Henry Taylor, Charlie Watson, Reuben Bird-Tulloch.

Share this story